PDA

View Full Version : WHS - Can't use share names in Squeeze Center setup?



jmpage2
2008-08-09, 09:47
Hi guys. I'm in the process of setting up Squeezecenter on my Windows Home Server that I've put together last week. One thing I'm scratching my head about is that it seems as though I can't specify netbios path names for my various shares, etc, in the Squeeze Center setup.

For example, I want my music path to be \\Homeserver\Shares\Music but when I try to save this Squeeze Center balks and says;

Invalid value "\\Homeserver\shares\Music" for audiodir

I can point Squeeze Center at the real root path directory D:\shares\music\ but in Windows Home Server it is strongly advised to not use the D:\ path for anything as it's a virtual file system.

Does anyone have any advice to help me get this set up and working properly?

Thanks.

MeSue
2008-08-09, 10:44
Hmmm... it works for me. Are you doing setup on the WHS machine or a client? I think I initially set mine up using a drive letter and later changed it to the UNC path.

jmpage2
2008-08-09, 17:54
Hmmm... it works for me. Are you doing setup on the WHS machine or a client? I think I initially set mine up using a drive letter and later changed it to the UNC path.

I'm trying to do it with the web browser from a client box (with the fishbone skin). Is there some way to do it directly on the WHS box I'm not aware of?

damager
2008-08-09, 18:51
Remote desktop into the WHS box and do the setup there.

jmpage2
2008-08-09, 20:53
Remote desktop into the WHS box and do the setup there.

I will remote desktop into the WHS box, and do the setup from a browser on that box.

Will report back, thanks!

jmpage2
2008-08-10, 10:08
I will remote desktop into the WHS box, and do the setup from a browser on that box.

Will report back, thanks!

When running the web browser directly on the WHS machine and trying to add the UNC paths I'm still getting errors such as this one;

Invalid value "\\Homeserver\shares\Music" for audiodir
Invalid value "\\Homeserver\shares\Music" for playlistdir

Even though clearly the machine knows where the Homeserver is;

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping homeserver

Pinging homeserver [192.168.0.10] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 time=-5ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 time=-5ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 time=-5ms TTL=128


Any other ideas to help fix this?

Thanks.

Goodsounds
2008-08-10, 11:25
In your first post, you say that it works by using the drive letter. Why not just do that?

jmpage2
2008-08-10, 11:54
In your first post, you say that it works by using the drive letter. Why not just do that?

Because using drive letters for anything in WHS is verboten. Due to the nature that shares, etc, work in WHS with it's virtualized storage pool, UNC names and not drive letter/folder paths are to be used at all times.

Roy
2008-08-10, 14:33
Because using drive letters for anything in WHS is verboten. Due to the nature that shares, etc, work in WHS with it's virtualized storage pool, UNC names and not drive letter/folder paths are to be used at all times.

Here is a link to the Ripcaster site instructions on installing squeezecenter on WHS - https://www.ripcaster.co.uk/node/321
You can see at 24 they use D:\shares\Music as the location for the music folder and playlists. They supply WHS boxes with squeezecenter installed.

Roy

jmpage2
2008-08-10, 17:48
Here is a link to the Ripcaster site instructions on installing squeezecenter on WHS - https://www.ripcaster.co.uk/node/321
You can see at 24 they use D:\shares\Music as the location for the music folder and playlists. They supply WHS boxes with squeezecenter installed.

Roy

OK, fair enough. It's still troublesome that others seem to have UNC paths working when they don't work on my setup.

jmpage2
2008-08-10, 18:07
OK, problem solved. Problem existing between operator and keyboard in this case. When trying to enter my UNC share names I was forgetting that the \share\ portion of the d:\ path does not exist as a component of the UNC path name.

In other words d:\shares\music is not \\homeserver\shares\music it is simply \\homeserver\music.

All fixed now apparently.

MeSue
2008-08-10, 19:07
OK, problem solved. Problem existing between operator and keyboard in this case. When trying to enter my UNC share names I was forgetting that the \share\ portion of the d:\ path does not exist as a component of the UNC path name.

In other words d:\shares\music is not \\homeserver\shares\music it is simply \\homeserver\music.

All fixed now apparently.

I was just coming here to suggest that after seeing your earlier message. Glad you got it worked out!

bonze
2008-08-11, 04:42
Just changed the naming over in my WHS after reading this thread.

Don't forget to clear out the cache.... :)

I ended up with everything doubled as it had a listing for every album on the old D:\shares\ as well as the new.

paul.burden
2008-08-11, 05:03
I think I will be going downthe same route (as long as MusicIP can cope). How do you clear the cache on Squeeze Centre?

Thankss


Paul

bonze
2008-08-11, 07:12
I think I will be going downthe same route (as long as MusicIP can cope). How do you clear the cache on Squeeze Centre?Actually, looks like that didn't do it....
I deleted the Cache folder - located from the SC7 setup page.

I think the reason I still have everything listed twice is because the MusicIP database still points at D:\shares\music and SC7 also points at \\server\music.

I need to change/move MusicIP - and I'm not sure how.

jmpage2
2008-08-11, 08:38
Just changed the naming over in my WHS after reading this thread.

Don't forget to clear out the cache.... :)

I ended up with everything doubled as it had a listing for every album on the old D:\shares\ as well as the new.

I see that I have this problem also. I will attempt to purge and rebuild the database and see if that has any effect.

paul.burden
2008-08-11, 11:09
I have bitten the bullet and changed the path in both MusicIP and Squeeze Centre. I am refreshing the MusicIP library now, which is taking a while (I reckon an hour) I will then rescan over night in squeeze centre. I will try and update this thread tomorrow.

Paul

bonze
2008-08-11, 12:17
I have bitten the bullet and changed the path in both MusicIP and Squeeze Centre. I am refreshing the MusicIP library now, which is taking a while (I reckon an hour) I will then rescan over night in squeeze centre. I will try and update this thread tomorrow.

PaulWhere do you change the path in MusicIP?

paul.burden
2008-08-12, 00:52
To change the path in MusicIP, I went to preferences (under the file menu), I think the option was folders or library.

MusicIP seems to have sorted itself out (I appear to have the right number of tracks showing now). However Squeeze Centre is showing lots of duplicates. I am hoping that another rescan tonight might sort that. Refreshing songs in MusicIP took rather longer than my forecast hour, closer to three! I was also adding ~25 CDs to the library last night, so I don't know what state the MusicIP library was in when Squeeze Centre did its nightly rescan. It may be that MusicIP was still in a confused state. At one point the track count was going up and down like a yoyo.

I will force a rescan when I get home and report back later tonight or tomorrow.

Paul

bonze
2008-08-12, 12:49
I see where you mean now, on the Library option it opens a browser window.

I deleted the old .m3lib file, then restarting MusicIP mixer took me through the setup again.
I'm assuming selecting the shared folder on the network rather than the D:\shares\ would be the 'proper' way?

Edit: Seems not to work for MusicIP.
I'm still getting everything listed twice, once for D:\shares\ and once for \\server\
Might raise the question on the MusicIP forum.

paul.burden
2008-08-12, 15:27
You are right about it being MusicIP that is causing the problem. I watched part of the scan in Squeeze Centre and could see it reading the files in from the MusicIP scan once for \\server and once for d:\share. There must be a way of clearing Music IP. In fact I must have done it once because I had this problem when I re ripped some files to FLAC instead of MP3. But I can't remember how I fixed it :-(

Paul

paul.burden
2008-08-13, 09:39
Folks This may be the answer
http://forums.musicip.com/index.php?showtopic=3576

Good luck.

Paul

bonze
2008-08-13, 10:07
Odd thing....
MusicIP now seems to be pointing to \\server\music on my WHS box now.
Not sure how it happened, I thought it wasn't yesterday but I did a rescan in SqueezeCentre this morning and the scan was reporting it as that.

As for clearing the MusicIP cache, I'd deleted the .m3lib file in the Administrator folder, which prompted the Mixer to ask for the music location. I pointed it to the Network shares rather than the D:\shares\
I'd also cleared the SC cache, so it might have been that too....

Anyhoo, now everything is pointing to \\server\music, and I have only one copy of everything.

paul.burden
2008-08-14, 03:06
Deleting .m3lib sorted things out for me :-) Although it did mean revalidating 10,000 songs, but MusicIP managed this overnight.

Cheers


Paul