PDA

View Full Version : Using old pc/laptop as media storage

JonnyI
2008-08-08, 04:49
Hi guys -

Apologise if this has been covered before, but I'm completely new to this sort of thing and would appreciate some advice.

I've just bought a couple of Duets and had planned to connect them to a NAS of some sort. Today I've read a few posts on various sites saying a lot of NAS's don't handle SqueezeCenter 7 very well, and that a better alternative was these stripped down pc thingies like TranquilPC.

Now they seem pretty good but cost 400+.

Then I also noticed a lot of people saying you should just use an old pc or
laptop as your 'media store', and get the Duet to pull music off there. Very cheap, better performance, etc etc

So, following this last line, would the process be something like this?

1. get an old pc / laptop and remove all software except the OS
2. install SqueezeCenter 7 on it and add your music to it's HDD and external HDD's if need be
3. attach old pc / laptop to network [just using a cable rather than wireless]
4. get Duet [also wired into network] to read from old pc / laptop and away you go

If so, what would be the spec I should look for in an old pc / laptop to check if it's suitable?

Anyone any comments on how good / bad this sort of setup is?

I also have a popcorn hour that I planned to use to stream dvd's. Could the old pc / laptop do the same job? If so would it need additional software eg Microsoft Home Server??

chrisinparis
2008-08-08, 06:40
So, following this last line, would the process be something like this?

1. get an old pc / laptop and remove all software except the OS
2. install SqueezeCenter 7 on it and add your music to it's HDD and external HDD's if need be
3. attach old pc / laptop to network [just using a cable rather than wireless]
4. get Duet [also wired into network] to read from old pc / laptop and away you go

Yes - that's the way (well one way) to go.