PDA

View Full Version : DHCP problems



alphagamma
2008-08-06, 03:23
Squeezebox Classic connected wireless to a Linksys WAG160N router.

When the Squeezebox looks for an ip address the first time (after a reset of the router) there is no problem.

But for some reason the second time getting an ip address fails.

Probably a problem with the Linksys WAG160N?
I don't have any problems connection my laptop to the router.

Letten
2008-08-06, 07:07
I don't have any problems connection my laptop to the router.

Have you inspected your laptops system-log (windows?) to see if this is entirely true?

I thought my Vista Laptop worked well with my wireless, but it turned out i had many disconnection/reconnections in the background during the day - because of dhcp problems. I just never noticed it when I just used it for email and browsing. Then when I i installed SC those disconnection were more of a problem :-)

Resolution in my case, was moving to static IP, to ommit dhcp entirely.

alphagamma
2008-08-06, 07:38
Have you inspected your laptops system-log (windows?) to see if this is entirely true?


Yes, no problems in log. BTW I still use XP ;)

Letten
2008-08-06, 08:11
Yes, no problems in log. BTW I still use XP ;)

SP2 or SP3?
XP SP3 introduced som dhcp problems on certain routers.

bhaagensen
2008-08-06, 08:20
SP2 or SP3?
XP SP3 introduced som dhcp problems on certain routers.

Deleted, never mind