PDA

View Full Version : Problem with squeezebox



Peter Blandford
2004-03-22, 02:12
Hi all,

I'm new to this group, so hello to you all. I have got a SLIMP3 connected to a
LINKSYS wireless bridge in my living room and a squeezebox in my kitchen.

I had all of my MP3 files on a PC on my network, this PC recently died. My 2nd
hard drive with all of my music on it was also corrupted. I managed to rescue
the MP3 files and transferred them to a new PC on my network. I don't think
this bit is relevant but I thought I would mention it in case it caused the
problem.

I set the new PC up as the slimp3 server and thought all was well.
Unfortunately, the Squeezebox has started to stop playing at seemingly random
points. The SLIMP3 in the Living room seems to be unaffected, so if the two
are synchronised the Squeezebox stops and the SLIMP3 continues playing.

I have brought my WAP closer to both units, in case the signal was not strong
enough for the Squuezebox and that doesn't make any difference. I have also
tried to "forget this player" and then reconnect it.

Any other ideas?

Mike Beranek
2004-03-22, 06:22
Is your server an XP server per chance? If so, you may want to check your
network device driver and make sure IP segmentation is not enabled.


"Peter Blandford" <peter (AT) theblandfords (DOT) com>
wrote in message news:loom.20040322T100115-67 (AT) post (DOT) gmane.org...
> Hi all,
>
> I'm new to this group, so hello to you all. I have got a SLIMP3 connected
to a
> LINKSYS wireless bridge in my living room and a squeezebox in my kitchen.
>
> I had all of my MP3 files on a PC on my network, this PC recently died. My
2nd
> hard drive with all of my music on it was also corrupted. I managed to
rescue
> the MP3 files and transferred them to a new PC on my network. I don't
think
> this bit is relevant but I thought I would mention it in case it caused
the
> problem.
>
> I set the new PC up as the slimp3 server and thought all was well.
> Unfortunately, the Squeezebox has started to stop playing at seemingly
random
> points. The SLIMP3 in the Living room seems to be unaffected, so if the
two
> are synchronised the Squeezebox stops and the SLIMP3 continues playing.
>
> I have brought my WAP closer to both units, in case the signal was not
strong
> enough for the Squuezebox and that doesn't make any difference. I have
also
> tried to "forget this player" and then reconnect it.
>
> Any other ideas?

Peter Blandford
2004-03-22, 12:20
Thanks for your time Mike, I am using an XP server and I have looked at all my
network settings and can't find the option to enable/dissable IP Segmentation.
I set up the network automatically using XP and am far from being a networking
wizard.
Could you give me an idea of where to look?

Mike Beranek
2004-03-22, 14:24
I didn't see these settings at first either and had to upgrade to the latest
driver version from Intel. Check intel support and download the latest and
greatest and then check the "advanced" settings page.

I strongly suspect this is your problem.

Regards,
Mike Beranek

"Peter Blandford" <peter (AT) theblandfords (DOT) com>
wrote in message news:loom.20040322T202036-406 (AT) post (DOT) gmane.org...
> Thanks for your time Mike, I am using an XP server and I have looked at
all my
> network settings and can't find the option to enable/dissable IP
Segmentation.
> I set up the network automatically using XP and am far from being a
networking
> wizard.
> Could you give me an idea of where to look?