PDA

View Full Version : Does SB play nice with Apple Airport Express?



Kyle
2008-08-02, 19:26
I'm thinking of replacing my old D-link router. Since I recently got a Mac, I'm looking at the Airport Express (which would work nicely with my Audioengines as a travel system streaming Airtunes). Does this router do well with an SB3?

Eric Seaberg
2008-08-02, 21:43
How are you planning on using it to connect between your server and SB3? Are you saying you'd have your server be wireless AND the SB3 be wireless? Not a good move, IMHO. Too much traffic to stream anything other than MP3s.

You'd be better of getting a router that is WIRED to you server Mac and only run wireless to the SB3. Then you could stream lossless.

I'm using the Extreme 'N' to connect to my SB3 in the master bedroom. The Extreme must be in 'B/G Compatible' mode, but it works great. I'm using WPA2 security without issues.

Kyle
2008-08-03, 04:46
Right now, my server (a laptop) is wireless and the SB3 also is wireless. I have no trouble streaming Flac to my main stereo, which is about 10 feet from the router (laptop is about 25 feet away in same room). I can even use a second SB3 on my Audioengines out on the deck with synced streams. I do get dropouts sometimes on the rear deck (about 30 feet from the router through a wall), but my front deck (20 feet from the router) generally works flawlessly. Wiring the server would be impossible because of where my internet connection enters the house, but it might be possible to wire the main SB3. I guess my real question is whether the Airport Express will do better in this setup than my D-Link with 802.11b technology.

peter
2008-08-03, 09:15
Kyle wrote:
> I'm thinking of replacing my old D-link router. Since I recently got a
> Mac, I'm looking at the Airport Express (which would work nicely with
> my Audioengines as a travel system streaming Airtunes). Does this
> router do well with an SB3?
>

I have an AE and it worked fine with my SB3 until it (the AE) died last
week. Apparently Apple still haven't figured out how to make access
points that last. (the power section seems to fail as in the old UFO
airports).

Regards,
Peter

andyda
2008-08-03, 10:00
I have an Airport Express I've been using for several years (B/G version) and it works great! In fact it seems to allow recovery better than the Airport Extreme (in my experience) because of a temporary glitch.

I have two Squeezebox (original) and one SliMP3 with a WET-11 wireless adapter. I use two wireless networks in my house. One that the Airport Express hosts, just for music (not connected to the Internet) and a separate network for Internet sharing throughout the house (my son likes some of the online games that require a persistent connection to the remote server. Between me and my son we have 4 computers and a TiVo connected to the Internet. Both networks require quite a bit of BW.

Both networks work great!

Long story short...

Go ahead, use the Airport Express on your network with your Squeezebox(s).

Just MHO, YMMV

Andy