PDA

View Full Version : Controller software update

Brum
2008-08-02, 12:24
Sorry for posting these questions, but I'm a novice in this area...
I have a Duet, with Squeezecenter running on a Qnap TS-209 Pro.

1. When upgrading SC to 7.1 a few days ago from http://www.slimdevices.com/su_downloads.html (Perl code; version reads 7.1-22170 after updating), I was under the impression that the Controller should also be updated to get some new functionality?

2. I have tried to update the Controller via the Settings -> Advanced menu. The Controller indicates new software "version ?" is available. When trying to update, the display reads "copying update" for a few seconds, then I get an error message, and am told to try again or contact support. FW still reads 7.0.1 r2448; is this the latest official release of software for the Controller?

3. I have found indications on this forum, that the main release number should be the same for Controller and SC. I have also found some software updates (jive_7.x_rxxxx.bin) which I believe are for the Controller on http://update.slimdevices.com/update/firmware/
In case an update should be done; which one is the correct for me? The latest one under 7.1?

4. I guess that the Controller searches for updates in a directory in the SC installation, and updates when new files are posted there. Can I download the correct *.bin file, put it in the correct directory, and try the manual update again, or do I have to use the SD-card method described in other posts on the forum?

I hope someone is able to help with these questions...

BillBurn
2008-08-04, 08:40
I have had the same issue for awhile now. Every time I try to update the controller, it seems to fail. I gave up after trying it 3 or 4 times, but would love to know if there is something I could do to solve the problem.

BillBurn
2008-08-05, 08:25