PDA

View Full Version : Fast FWD and REW not working



Patrick Lim
2004-03-21, 07:33
I'm playing back FLAC files via WAV to a squeezebox. Most of the remote
functions work, including next/prev song by pressing the thw FWD and REW
buttons. But holding those buttons down, which is supposed to Fast FWD and REW
within a song, does not work.

Is this a known issue with transcoded songs?

Thanks,

Patrick

Roy M. Silvernail
2004-03-21, 09:39
On Sun, 2004-03-21 at 09:33, Patrick Lim wrote:
> I'm playing back FLAC files via WAV to a squeezebox. Most of the remote
> functions work, including next/prev song by pressing the thw FWD and REW
> buttons. But holding those buttons down, which is supposed to Fast FWD and REW
> within a song, does not work.
>
> Is this a known issue with transcoded songs?

I don't recall it being brought up before, but I'd think it's an obvious
limitation. Transcoded material is actually being read by an external
process and SlimServer receives it as a stream. Can't seek in a stream,
only in a file.
--
Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss
http://www.rant-central.com

Jeff Shanholtz
2004-03-21, 19:04
On Sun, 21 Mar 2004 23:15:15 -0000, Ian Crockford wrote:

> Oh - if only Fast FWD and REW would work with normal MP3's... That would be
> a good start. They stopped working for me at 5.0, and haven't worked
> correctly ever since.
>
> Dean, any progress on this one?

You would think they'd consider this a high priority bug, but maybe it's a
tough nut to crack for some reason. Certainly been driving me nuts for
quite a while!

dean
2004-03-21, 19:14
Hi,

You are exactly right. It's a high priority bug AND a hard nut to
crack. Sorry it's taking so long, we're doing our best to
prioritize...

-dean

On Mar 21, 2004, at 6:04 PM, Jeff Shanholtz wrote:

> On Sun, 21 Mar 2004 23:15:15 -0000, Ian Crockford wrote:
>
>> Oh - if only Fast FWD and REW would work with normal MP3's... That
>> would be
>> a good start. They stopped working for me at 5.0, and haven't worked
>> correctly ever since.
>>
>> Dean, any progress on this one?
>
> You would think they'd consider this a high priority bug, but maybe
> it's a
> tough nut to crack for some reason. Certainly been driving me nuts for
> quite a while!
>
>

Stuart
2004-03-22, 04:15
I'd like to see a pair of buttons that would just skip forwards or
backwards in one minute intervals. When you want to just skip the
commercials on a radio recoding for example; holding down the button and
scanning is not very practical.

S.