PDA

View Full Version : Problem: Lost contact with Slimserver



Simon Turner
2004-03-17, 19:15
I've been doing some testing of my SB with my DAC tonight (see "[slim]
Squeezebox/External DAC - technical issues").

However, I've not got very far. The testing involved a lot of pausing and
use of the rew and fwd buttons.
I found that my SB kept loosing contact with my Slimserver and I received
the error:
Problem: Lost contact with Slimserver
Check that the software is running

(I checked, slim.exe was still running)

But, once this error had displayed the screen went blank and although
hitting any button on the remote brought back the error message I could get
no other response from any of the remotes button's (inc. power).
The only way I could get any control back was to take the power lead out of
the back of the SB.
Then the SB invited to set up the network again, which i did.
All goes smoothly. I get an IP address for the SB via DHCP.
Then one of two things happens, either:
1) The screen goes blank and i get the "Lost contact" error, or
2) I receive the error: "Can't allocate net pages for dll: 4"

I checked my PC and slim.exe is still running. However when i start up
SlimServer it hangs at the splash screen (and no hard disk noise which I
guess is not surprsing at it should not need to scan my drive as slim.exe is
stil running).

To get any functionality back I have to kill slim.exe, start the Slimserver
and the wait for it to scan my files.

This sequence of events is easily repeatable.

Windows XP
SB Firmware 8
Simserver 5.1.1
Wireless strength 75%

Simon Turner
Brighton UK

Pat Farrell
2004-03-17, 20:55
At 09:15 PM 3/17/2004, Simon Turner wrote:
>I've been doing some testing of my SB with my DAC tonight I found that my
>SB kept loosing contact with my Slimserver and I received
>the error:
>Problem: Lost contact with Slimserver
>Check that the software is running
>But, once this error had displayed the screen went blank and although
>hitting any button on the remote brought back the error message I could get
>no other response from any of the remotes button's (inc. power).

I see this occasionally as well, and the screen of my Sqbx goes blank.
Interestingly, the music keeps playing. It just stops showing
proper NowPlaying info.


>The only way I could get any control back was to take the power lead out of
>the back of the SB.

Mine will spontaneously return after some random time or event.
I have no idea when or why.


>I checked my PC and slim.exe is still running.

I'm on linux, so it is slimserver.pl,
but it is up and working.


>Simserver 5.1.1
>Wireless strength 75%

I'm wired.

Its pretty aggravating.

Pat