PDA

View Full Version : Server message: "Your squeezecenter settings are available for the world to see



rfrost
2008-07-16, 16:02
Strangely enough, in the past day or less, my Squeezebox server (SqueezeCenter 7.0; like many Mac users I back-graded from 7.1 when problems there became obvious) has overwritten all of my track names, regardless of interface with the words, "Your squeezecenter settings are available for the world to see and change. Is that what you want?". I tried all manner of approaches to fix this, even (imagine!) password-protecting access, but the problem persists. Anyone else getting this? Any fixes come to mind?

TiA (again), friends.

Siduhe
2008-07-17, 02:13
Sorry to hear you're having problems, but I'm not sure this is a Squeezecenter generated error - certainly that isn't a wording I have ever seen before. And Squeezecenter isn't capable of overwriting file or track names, or do you mean that there's a kind of pop-up message which fills up the screen? Can you post a screenshot?

Important question - have you tried to open Squeezecenter for remote access (eg so you can play your music from work), or have you opened up any ports in your router at all (if running wireless). If so, and you haven't properly secured those ports, there are ways that people can search on the internet to find your Squeezecenter instance and access it. Not going to list them here, but it is possible. It may be that someone is having some fun at your expense.

Either way, you need to secure your computer - fast. I would shut down SC, disconnect whatever is running SC from your network and run a full virus scan. Then you need to close down whatever ports you have opened up in your router to the outside world (assuming you are connecting via a router) so at least your system is secure.

If you really want to open up your Squeezecenter to remote access (and it's not really designed with this in mind, so there is an inherent risk if you decide to to do this) you should really do this via an SSH or VPN, see this long discussion (http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=15528&highlight=secure+remote+access+ssh) with some useful tips. At the very least, block incoming connections, whitelist your LAN, players and work IP using Server Settings - Security.

I note that the wiki is now giving instructions to achieve remote access without mentioning any of these issues - serious error IMHO and I'll do some editing.

Siduhe
2008-07-17, 02:45
If I read this right, you published your IP settings on the forum for the world to see????

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=320500#post320500