PDA

View Full Version : ID3 track numbers duplicates in albums



Dolf Dijkstra
2004-03-16, 02:25
Maybe a good idea to list 5 duplicates found, next to 200 albums, 1500
songs and 100 artists found.

Really great would be to list the dups either by a link on the web
and/or in the log when scanning the music collection.

Shall I open an enhancement request?

Cheers

Dolf

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of dean
blackketter
Sent: Monday, March 15, 2004 8:41 PM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] ID3 track numbers duplicates in albums


SlimServer uniquely identifies tracks by Genre/Artist/Album/TrackNumber
combinations. If you have songs with exactly the same identifiers for
each of these four items, then you'll only see one of them. In
multi-disc sets, the Album consists of the set name plus the disc
number.

If you throw out the disc number, then you may have multiple tracks
that SlimServer think are the same. If you are tossing out the notion
of disc in a multi-disc set, I suggest you renumber your tracks to be
unique and allow for them to play in order.


On Mar 15, 2004, at 11:27 AM, Cormac Long wrote:

> Folks,
> for ease of use, and long before I started using slimserver, I
> moved all my multi-CD albums into single folders of MP3s... I don't
> see the need to retain the CD 1 / disc 2 separation.. it just doesn't
> seem relevant to retain it.
>
> I noticed however, that slimserver seems to list only some of the
> tracks in these albums.. the browse music folder option lists all
> files.
>
> On closer inspection it appears that when two tracks share the same
> track number ID3 field, only one gets indexed with the album. If I
> modify the clashes and rescan the folder, the album view includes both

> files.. of course this means that to make all my combined albums
> visible, I need to remove all clashes.
>
> It also means that manually assembled albums of MP3s will have the
> same issue.
>
> Does anyone know if it is possible to disable this functionality?
>
>
>
> Regards,
> Cormac
>