PDA

View Full Version : Bad experience upgrading to SC7 (pops and cracks and pause)



vincoz
2008-07-01, 22:48
Hi,

I've been running slimserver 6.5.4 happily for around 6 months but my SB3 does not seem to like SC7 at all: whether it hooks up to my NAS (QNAP ts201 with the not officially supported SSODS environment) or to my iBook, I still hear some pops and cracks while listening to my flacs, and after a few minutes the song just goes to pause. mp3 files and streams seem ~less~ affected, although some podcasts do crack as well.

I contacted support with not much success now so decided to post the following simple question:

<< irrespective of hardware or version of slimserver, has anyone ever had this behaviour before? >>

Many thanks in advance,

Vincent.

radish
2008-07-02, 07:06
Do you really hear pops or just dropouts?

vincoz
2008-07-03, 03:25
Do you really hear pops or just dropouts?

pops and loud cracks, as if the wires were badly connected (which they aren't). The going on pause happens with flacs only. What I haven't tried (and am relunctant to trying) is to check what happens when using lower quality mp3s.

Still the SB3 is connected to the nas by ethernet, so bandwidth shouldn't be an issue neither.

Really stuck there, any help appreciated.

Thanks, Vincent.

Phil Leigh
2008-07-03, 05:22
have you reset the xilinx chip?

vincoz
2008-07-03, 16:55
have you reset the xilinx chip?

Phil, do you mean pressing the "1" key when starting up the SB? I just did that (but not the extra factory settings or forcing fw download again as I had tried that earlier) but still have the problem.

Interestingly, when playing just a single file repeatedly, the pop followed by a drop out and pause happens always exactly at the same time

Thanks for the suggestion anyway, is there any other place worth looking?

Cheers Vincent

radish
2008-07-07, 09:56
If it happens at the same point in the track that points strongly to corruption of the file. Have you tried playing them with something else?

Phil Leigh
2008-07-07, 10:47
Phil, do you mean pressing the "1" key when starting up the SB? I just did that (but not the extra factory settings or forcing fw download again as I had tried that earlier) but still have the problem.

Interestingly, when playing just a single file repeatedly, the pop followed by a drop out and pause happens always exactly at the same time

Thanks for the suggestion anyway, is there any other place worth looking?

Cheers Vincent

have to agree with radish...if it is in the same place the file is likely corrupt (it happens).
Try playing the file using other software..

vincoz
2008-07-08, 21:18
have to agree with radish...if it is in the same place the file is likely corrupt (it happens).
Try playing the file using other software..

Hi and thanks for your replies,

The files play just fine on softsqueeze, I also used the flac binary in SSODS (v1.2.0) to check a few - they're all ok from that point of view. Would softsqueeze have some sort of fault tolerance to let a corruption go unnoticed? Also I remember a mem leak issue with flac, but that was probably in an earlier version.

When the playback is just about to go on pause, the display says "rebuffering 0%" for a few seconds; although I cannot back this with facts I am enclined to thinking that the SB has a problem initiating the rebuffering: when the playback starts, the cache is loaded with the first x Mo of the song; when comes the time to get the next chunk it just gets confused and puts some white noise instead (the equaliser indicates all frequencies @ 100% when one of those cracks happen). Then I'm suspecting a safety mechanism stops the playback when it realises that the buffer is corrupted.

I unfortunately do not have the time to investigate all possible paths, but i've read other threads where users were complaining about more serious quirks comparable to mine and so was hoping someone had already gone deep inside the machine to find out what was going on.

Regards, Vincent.

vincoz
2008-07-15, 03:45
Hi,

Here are the few things I tried lately:

- reinstalled SS 6.5.4 to check whether the playback is fine ==> it's perfect
- ran the recommended uninstall procedure (which I hadn't done the first time)
- reinstalled SC7.0.1 ==> the cracks still appear
> decoded a flac to wav ==> the wav creates many more cracks, pops and whizzs of all sorts
> converted a whole album from flac to mp3 (using flac2mp3 which converts to mp3 using lame in VBR by default) ==> plays beautifully

I therefore tend to think that the amount of data to process plays a certain role in my problem.


The only potential culprit I see is that I only have 2M of free mem (excluding swap)

Again, any help apreciated!

Regards, Vincent.

gian
2008-07-25, 23:53
although I was warned not to fix things that ain't broke, I moved to SC7 for SS6.5.4 because my Ubuntu 6.10 did not support a new printer and had to go for 8.04.

Well, now I have the same problem pops, cracks and pauses.

Since I have a high end stereo chain I almost fainted hearing these cracks fearing for my tweeters. Had to jump out of the bathtub to save them!

Has this issue been fixed or should I revert to 6.5.4 right away?!

Also, my playlist are no more usable with SC7.
Has the format changed?

CardinalFang
2008-07-26, 01:17
Again, any help apreciated!

I suffered from pauses and very slow response times when I upgraded, eventually solved by using a MacBook Pro as a server instead of my old PowerMac, but even so it still pauses about 5 seconds into tracks occasionally. Do you have any faster hardware you could try the server on? As well as being a file size issue, it could also be a processing one.

vincoz
2008-07-26, 01:20
although I was warned not to fix things that ain't broke, I moved to SC7 for SS6.5.4 because my Ubuntu 6.10 did not support a new printer and had to go for 8.04.

Well, now I have the same problem pops, cracks and pauses.

Since I have a high end stereo chain I almost fainted hearing these cracks fearing for my tweeters. Had to jump out of the bathtub to save them!

Has this issue been fixed or should I revert to 6.5.4 right away?!

Also, my playlist are no more usable with SC7.
Has the format changed?

Hi Gian,

I chose to downgrade to 6.5.4 (actually I'm now on 6.3.1). Slimdevices support offered to issue an RMA so that I return them the device, but I think I'll just wait a few months until either Qnap offer a native install on the ts201 or Slimdevices release a new version that happens to work (sometimes things get fixed unintentionally). Pretty disappointed with the experience but that's life.

Regards, Vincent.

gian
2008-07-26, 05:07
thanks, Vincent.

I have no evidence, but everything hardware is unchanged, so I guess the culprit must be SC7...

I'll consider downgrading to SS6.5.5... but it's really annoying...

Logitech, are you there...?

Caleb Crome
2008-07-26, 07:58
Hi,
If you always get a pop at the same time in a track, will you send us that track, or an excerpt of that track that causes the problem?

I opened the following bug. Please attach the file to this bug. You probably need to check the 'big file' button. If you have problems with that, we'll find another way to send it to us.

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=8882

If we can reproduce the problem, we can fix it and add it to our regression tests.

Sincerely,
-Caleb

gian
2008-07-27, 01:07
after further investigation, I found that I had severe crack & pops listening to Virgin Radio Classic Rock, but neither my ripped music database, nor other radio channels such as BBC radio 3 behaved like that.

The VRCR url that CRACKS is:
http://mp3-vc-128.smgradio.com/

Since I have another Ubuntu box running SS6.5.4 in my country house, I ssh'ed my playlist folder and found that the URL was:
mms://wm.smgradio.com/vruk_vc_hi

This works fine.

So far, the Sun is shining again on my Squeezeboxes...

gian
2008-07-27, 01:13
ah, Caleb,

thank you very much for you support.

It's glad to know that you are there, in case we need.

You know, the Squeezebox changed my life, just can't do without...

andyg
2008-07-27, 19:52
FYI, that Virgin Radio issue is known: http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=7814

jrichardson
2008-08-28, 12:21
Can you all please try the latest version of SC 7.2 to see if this issue still happens?

http://www.slimdevices.com/su_downloads.html

vincoz
2008-08-29, 01:35
Still the same things happening with 7.2 (I just tested on my iBook).

Vincent.