PDA

View Full Version : Squeezecenter & Windows Home Server



lyteroptes
2008-06-29, 03:39
I'm struggling with this. I have it installed and running on WHS but what folder can you point it at? Files backed up from PCs are not accessible (as far as I can see) and shared folders have some form of size quota on them that I haven't found a way of removing.

Thanks

bonze
2008-06-29, 05:24
I have mine pointing at a folder on the shared folder Music.
Is there a size limit for this folder? I currently have 162GB of flac on there...

lyteroptes
2008-06-29, 05:40
yes, that was my plan too. I can't find any documentation that says there is a limit but each time I try to copy a folder of sub-folder I get a message about insufficient space - the limit appears to about 60 Gbytes. Each shared folder will get backed up so perhap it's calculated some limit? I have just over 1 Tb on there

Siduhe
2008-06-29, 06:23
yes, that was my plan too. I can't find any documentation that says there is a limit but each time I try to copy a folder of sub-folder I get a message about insufficient space - the limit appears to about 60 Gbytes. Each shared folder will get backed up so perhap it's calculated some limit? I have just over 1 Tb on there

I seem to remember this is a known problem with WHS, particularly if copying from a Vista machine - although more around system resources than insufficient space. Have a search around on the Microsoft KB forums. I found this on a quick Google.

http://forums.microsoft.com/windowshomeserver/showpost.aspx?postid=1444560&siteid=50&sb=0&d=1&at=7&ft=11&tf=0&pageid=0

Could be your issue?

MuckleEck
2008-06-29, 07:41
I haven't come across a problem with large shared folders, currently have about 240G of FLAC files. I use MediamOnkey to transfer ripped files over to the server. I did find that ripping to a local drive, re-tagging with mp3tag and then suing MM to transfer to the correct folder was the best way. Ripping direct was veeerrrryy sloooowwww.

lyteroptes
2008-06-29, 08:22
This is the response I got on the WHS forum. The error message was about insufficient disk space not resources BTW.

-----------------------------------------------------
File copies are limited by the size of your system drive. If your system drive is 80 GB, for example, it will be reported as 74 GB. Of that 74 GB, 20 GB is reserved for the system (C: ) partition. That leaves a maximum of 54 GB for file copies. There are other WHS functions that also may consume space on the system drive in some circumstances, further reducing the space avaialble for file copies.
-----------------------------------------------------

The PC has three drives and the smallest is probably 80Gbytes which seemed sensible, even generous, for a system drive. So presumably I could copy in small batches but with >400 Gbytes FLAC and slow file copies I think I'll be ditching WHS/

redgum
2008-06-30, 04:15
I think that while using a small system drive is appropriate for many server systems, WHS thinks different.

The general recommendation for WHS is to use the largest drive as the system drive. This is because WHS partitions off a system drive and then uses the physical drive as a 'landing zone'.

Depending on how keen you are to persevere with WHS you should try re-installing WHS on the largest physical drive.

I've been using WHS for almost a year and, after some initial teething problems with getting consistent playback from Slimserver, I have been very impressed. The great backup system has already saved me once and I find the whole thing just chugs away with minimal maintenance day-in-day-out.

irablumberg
2008-06-30, 13:35
I've been using WHS for almost a year and, after some initial teething problems with getting consistent playback from Slimserver, I have been very impressed. The great backup system has already saved me once and I find the whole thing just chugs away with minimal maintenance day-in-day-out.

While I've only had WHS for about 3 months, I completely agree. The auto backup is wonderful and completely painless. Having the capability to run SqueezeCenter on the WHS server at no additional cost is a great bonus. I got the HP Media Center, so my main drive is a 500G. Thus, I have not had the file transfer problem.

Just use a large primary drive and this problem should be solved.

Ira

consciouspnm
2008-07-01, 06:28
I also have no issues with WHS, all my flac files live on the Music share and they were all copied there from my old QNAP NAS device via a Vista PC with no problems. That's 250Gb in one go.

Where did you get WHS from, is it a preinstalled box?

byKnight
2008-07-01, 06:57
I built my own WHS box with lots of disk space and very low power requirements. It ran SlimServer and now SqueezeCenter without a hitch. I've got 400GB of music on there (mostly flac) that I moved over from my primary workstation.

curbfeeler
2008-07-12, 19:56
I managed to install SqueezeCenter on WHS and run it as a service, but I have been unable to upgrade to version 7.1. Who can describe a blow by blow method of getting this done?
I have to use another computer to download the upgrade, and after copying it to the WHS I get an error when I try to launch it. Though I'm logged in as Administrator WHS states that "Windows cannot accesss the specified device, path, or file. You may not have appropriate permissions to access the item."
Huh?

bonze
2008-07-13, 01:15
I managed to install SqueezeCenter on WHS and run it as a service, but I have been unable to upgrade to version 7.1. Who can describe a blow by blow method of getting this done?
I have to use another computer to download the upgrade, and after copying it to the WHS I get an error when I try to launch it. Though I'm logged in as Administrator WHS states that "Windows cannot accesss the specified device, path or file. You may not have appropriate permissions to access the item."
Huh?Because it's been copied from another computer/domain (or something), it is automagically 'blocked' by the OS.
Right click on the .exe, select Properties.
At the bottom of the first screen click on 'Unblock', then try again.

consciouspnm
2008-07-13, 01:26
Also try installing if from the desktop and as previously stated, if you copied it from somewhere else as opposed to downloading it directly on the WHS, you have to unblock it.

curbfeeler
2008-07-13, 10:31
Doh! Automagically blocked. I'd seen this before but I must have filed that nugget of information alphamystically. It was a piece of cake after unblocking the exe. Odd thing was that I hadn't taken the step to unblock SqueezeCenter-7.1-20612.exe when it just decided to run when making what I thought would be another futile attempt at installing it. I had been messing with ownership and permissions on the file, though. I should mention I took the precaution of stopping the SqueezeCenter and SqueezeMySQL services at the WHS before attempting an upgrade.
I downloaded SqueezeCenter-7.1-21670.exe from a Vista Ultimate w/s directly to my WHS, placed it on the desktop (though I believe it would have run from any location) and unblocked it per suggestions. Tada, voila.
Now at:
SqueezeCenter Version: 7.1 - 21670 @ Sun Jul 13 01:05:48 PDT 2008 - Windows Server 2003 - EN - cp1252
Server IP address: 192.168.0.162
Perl Version: 5.8.8 MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
MySQL Version: 5.0.22-community-nt
Platform Architecture: 586
Hostname: athena
Server Port Number: 9000
Total Players Recognized: 1

Ready to install a second Duet receiver.
Then on to install the beta of the Power Pack on WHS.
THX to bonze and consciouspnm for their able assistance and care.