PDA

View Full Version : How do I get re-connected to SqueezeCenter and my music?



Ross M
2008-06-27, 18:43
SqueezeCenter is not running.
I have tried connecting to SC via the web interface and get the following
message, "Failed to Connect
Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 127.0.0.1:9000."
And I have tried connecting via the Controller and get the following
message, "Problem: Can't connect to SC."
If you need any other information please let me know.

Ross

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of aubuti
Sent: Friday, June 27, 2008 7:24 PM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: Re: [slim] How do I get re-connected to Squeeze Center and my
music?


Some details would help. Have you confirmed that SqueezeCenter is
running? Have you tried connecting to SC via the web interface? What
message do you get on your Squeezebox and/or Controller?


--
aubuti
------------------------------------------------------------------------
aubuti's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2074
View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=49295

lork
2008-06-27, 19:39
When I get that message, it's due to my having power-cycled my server and the router assigning it a new IP address via DHCP.

E.g., in may case the server IP address is 192.168.1.105, except that sometimes it get reassigned to 192.168.1.103, etc.

So modify the address in your web browser to a few likely IPs and you may get it to connect to Squeezecenter. [a more bulltproof way to do this is to go to Start, then "run" on the XP toolbar, then type cmd, then type ipconfig & look for the IP address, then enter that in the browser (with the :9000 at the end)].

To get the controller to play ball, you may have to go to setting/music source/other server and enter the new IP address for the server (nb: 192.168.1.103 = 192.168.001.103 when entering...)

Hope that works for you.

Ross M
2008-06-27, 20:03
When I enter the IP address manually I get the following response," Network
Timeout
The server at 192.168.001.102 is taking too long to respond."
Any suggestions?

Ross

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of lork
Sent: Friday, June 27, 2008 10:39 PM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: Re: [slim] How do I get re-connected to SqueezeCenter and my music?


When I get that message, it's due to my having power-cycled my server
and the router assigning it a new IP address via DHCP.

E.g., in may case the server IP address is 192.168.1.105, except that
sometimes it get reassigned to 192.168.1.103, etc.

So modify the address in your web browser to a few likely IPs and you
may get it to connect to Squeezecenter. [a more bulltproof way to do
this is to go to Start, then "run" on the XP toolbar, then type cmd,
then type ipconfig & look for the IP address, then enter that in the
browser (with the :9000 at the end)].

To get the controller to play ball, you may have to go to setting/music
source/other server and enter the new IP address for the server (nb:
192.168.1.103 = 192.168.001.103 when entering...)

Hope that works for you.


--
lork
------------------------------------------------------------------------
lork's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=17438
View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=49299

ceejay
2008-06-27, 22:17
I think that, before worrying about ho you are connecting to SC, you need to establish whether its running or not. And Aubuti did ask some good questions you've not answered yet.

What OS are you running?
What version of SC?
what kind of squeezebox do you have?

I'd also add - is there just one computer involved here, the one running SC, or is there another one you are trying to access it from?

But, you first need to check whether its running at all. If you're on Windows and you open up the Task Manager and look at processes, can you see anything that looks like it might be connected with SC?

HTH

lork
2008-06-27, 22:30
Hmm. I'd need more info to say anything useful... what operating system, did you have it working before, if so what changed (power cycle of computer, SW update, something else?), are you wired to the receiver ethernet or wireless? through a router or straight? (straight requires a different cable, I think). Are you trying to connect to Squeezecenter via a browser on the same PC that is running Squeezecenter, or from a different one? (if from a different one, does your computer connect to anything though it's ethernet/wireless? If not, there's the issue).

It sounds like (though I am not sure) your browser is not being allowed to access the IP address at all. Things you might try:

- Check if SC is running... how to do this depends on your computer. On my XP machine, there is an icon on the right side of the toolbar, and if I click on it I can "stop", "start", or set SC to "automatically run at login". If it's stopped, there's the (or at least a) problem... start it, or set it to start automatically & reboot your computer (might be the best- then check if it really started).

- Check your firewall; is it still allowing communication on port 9000? It needs to be enabled for TCP, and port 3483 for TCP & UDP... maybe something changed and your firewall settings got changed back to default & stopped these communications? [This could maybe happen if SC automatically updated (if you have it set that way) and your firewall has blocked it until you OK the "new" (AKA changed) application).

- Power cycling your router/wifi unit *might* help (may also scramble all the DHCP IP addresses, so you may have to recheck/re-enter all that). Probably only useful if you cannot connect to SC from a browser open on a different computer.

Beyond this, I cannot help. Those are things I'd try anyway.

Ross M
2008-06-28, 03:34
My OS is Windows SP Home Edition
SC has been working for almost 1 year
Not sure what has changed since Wednesday
I use a wireless router.
I only use one computer to connect to SC
According to my toolbar SC was not running.

However, today SC is running. If this problem arises again I'll write back.
Thanks.

Ross

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of lork
Sent: Saturday, June 28, 2008 1:31 AM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: Re: [slim] How do I get re-connected to SqueezeCenter and my music?


Hmm. I'd need more info to say anything useful... what operating system,
did you have it working before, if so what changed (power cycle of
computer, SW update, something else?), are you wired to the receiver
ethernet or wireless? through a router or straight? (straight requires
a different cable, I think). Are you trying to connect to Squeezecenter
via a browser on the same PC that is running Squeezecenter, or from a
different one? (if from a different one, does your computer connect to
anything though it's ethernet/wireless? If not, there's the issue).

It sounds like (though I am not sure) your browser is not being allowed
to access the IP address at all. Things you might try:

- Check if SC is running... how to do this depends on your computer. On
my XP machine, there is an icon on the right side of the toolbar, and if
I click on it I can "stop", "start", or set SC to "automatically run at
login". If it's stopped, there's the (or at least a) problem... start
it, or set it to start automatically & reboot your computer (might be
the best- then check if it really started).

- Check your firewall; is it still allowing communication on port 9000?
It needs to be enabled for TCP, and port 3483 for TCP & UDP... maybe
something changed and your firewall settings got changed back to
default & stopped these communications? [This could maybe happen if SC
automatically updated (if you have it set that way) and your firewall
has blocked it until you OK the "new" (AKA changed) application).

- Power cycling your router/wifi unit *might* help (may also scramble
all the DHCP IP addresses, so you may have to recheck/re-enter all
that). Probably only useful if you cannot connect to SC from a browser
open on a different computer.

Beyond this, I cannot help. Those are things I'd try anyway.


--
lork
------------------------------------------------------------------------
lork's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=17438
View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=49299