PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox: Sound drop out with Flac files



Simon Turner
2004-03-10, 18:32
My wireless network now runs at 80% signal. I have taken off all encryption.
Still I experience drop outs when running flac files.
I have noticed that the music stays in time when it returns after a drop out
(i.e it is still being transmitted but not received???).

This is a big concern for me as I am aiming to dump my CDX (and retrieve
over ?1000 for my redundant player!).

The flac drop out appears to be a problem for windows and unix users, wired
or wireless.
I'd really like SlimD to address it as soon as possible.....

Windows XP
Wireless @ 80% signal
Belkin WAP F5D7130
Netgear Dual Speed Hub DS108
Squeezebox firmware: vs8
Slimserver: vs 5.1.1

STOP PRESS:
A small wobbly (fly in the ointment etc): I've just noticed a drop out
whilst listening to flac files via my headphones plugged into the soundcard
of main PC... oh dear, whooops... help anyone?
Just incase it is a Flac problem I've started at topic at Hydrogen Audio:
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?act=ST&f=19&t=19557

Simon Turner
Brighton UK

Stuart Hickinbottom
2004-03-13, 15:29
On Thu, 11 Mar 2004 01:32:40 -0000, Simon Turner <simon (AT) brighton (DOT) co.uk>
wrote:

>
> The flac drop out appears to be a problem for windows and unix users,
> wired or wireless. I'd really like SlimD to address it as soon as
> possible.....

As this does appear to be the case, if nobody has any further information
I'll raise it on bugs.slimdevices.com. It does definitely seem to be a
problem that is unrelated to available bandwidth or CPU.

Stuart

Dan Sully
2004-03-13, 16:34
* Stuart Hickinbottom <stuart (AT) hickinbottom (DOT) demon.co.uk> shaped the electrons to say...

>>The flac drop out appears to be a problem for windows and unix users,
>>wired or wireless. I'd really like SlimD to address it as soon as
>>possible.....
>
>As this does appear to be the case, if nobody has any further information
>I'll raise it on bugs.slimdevices.com. It does definitely seem to be a
>problem that is unrelated to available bandwidth or CPU.

FWIW, I'm not seeing this on a wired Squeezebox from a Linux server.

-D
--
C program run, C program crash, C programmer cry.

Pat Farrell
2004-03-13, 16:54
>On Thu, 11 Mar 2004 01:32:40 -0000, Simon Turner <simon (AT) brighton (DOT) co.uk>
>wrote:
>Please raise it asap. This bug is a show stopper for me and renders my
>Squeezebox entirely useless.

I see the problem on my wired Sqbx from Fedora. but I'd hardly
call it a show stopper for me. It happens occasionally,
don't even know if it is periodic.

At 05:29 PM 3/13/2004, Stuart Hickinbottom wrote:
>As this does appear to be the case, if nobody has any further information
>I'll raise it on bugs.slimdevices.com. It does definitely seem to be a
>problem that is unrelated to available bandwidth or CPU.

I have not carefully diagnosed it. But I see it more when the server
starts, as in during a scan. I expect that some of the other occurrences
are also during the server's self started scan. Granded, I know my CPU
is underpowered, but it works fine at least 95% of the time.

Pat

kdf
2004-03-13, 17:06
Quoting Pat Farrell <pfarrell (AT) pfarrell (DOT) com>:

>
> >On Thu, 11 Mar 2004 01:32:40 -0000, Simon Turner <simon (AT) brighton (DOT) co.uk>
> >wrote:
> >Please raise it asap. This bug is a show stopper for me and renders my
> >Squeezebox entirely useless.
>
> I see the problem on my wired Sqbx from Fedora. but I'd hardly
> call it a show stopper for me. It happens occasionally,
> don't even know if it is periodic.
>
> At 05:29 PM 3/13/2004, Stuart Hickinbottom wrote:
> >As this does appear to be the case, if nobody has any further information
> >I'll raise it on bugs.slimdevices.com. It does definitely seem to be a
> >problem that is unrelated to available bandwidth or CPU.
>
> I have not carefully diagnosed it. But I see it more when the server
> starts, as in during a scan. I expect that some of the other occurrences
> are also during the server's self started scan. Granded, I know my CPU
> is underpowered, but it works fine at least 95% of the time.
>
> Pat
>


I have just been trying this out myself for the last 5 hours. I haven't heard
even one skip. Notebook and Squeezebox running wireless to a Mandrake Linux
server functioning as web server, email, firewall, and slimserver. Its an
Athlon 2k, 512M Ram. Totally Useless(tm) would seem a bit overly dramatic,
personally. However, as much as I would like to lend a hand to the effort, I
can't debug if I don't have the problem. Might be interesting to experiment to
find out how fast the buffer can drain. Seems offhand to be strange to just
suddenly drop to nothing.

-kdf

-kdf

Stuart Hickinbottom
2004-03-13, 17:29
On Sat, 13 Mar 2004 16:06:00 -0800, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
wrote:

> I have just been trying this out myself for the last 5 hours. I haven't
> heard
> even one skip. Notebook and Squeezebox running wireless to a Mandrake
> Linux
> server functioning as web server, email, firewall, and slimserver. Its
> an
> Athlon 2k, 512M Ram. Totally Useless(tm) would seem a bit overly
> dramatic,
> personally. However, as much as I would like to lend a hand to the
> effort, I
> can't debug if I don't have the problem. Might be interesting to
> experiment to
> find out how fast the buffer can drain. Seems offhand to be strange to
> just
> suddenly drop to nothing.

I've raised this as bug #218.

I don't want to waste people's time unnecessarily (I know what it's
practically impossible to fix bugs you can't reproduce), so I'll have
another bash at both reproducing and analysing the problem tomorrow and
report back.

Stuart

kdf
2004-03-13, 22:02
Quoting Stuart Hickinbottom <stuart (AT) hickinbottom (DOT) demon.co.uk>:


>
> I've raised this as bug #218.
>
> I don't want to waste people's time unnecessarily (I know what it's
> practically impossible to fix bugs you can't reproduce), so I'll have
> another bash at both reproducing and analysing the problem tomorrow and
> report back.
>
It's not a waste if you are having a problem. I'm just sorry I can't help. I
felt I had to mention it, tho, since I am using Linux. The problem isn't for
all linux users. I suspect its something going on with the networks involved.
Wireless can be tricky. In my case, playback on my two wireless SB's causes my
2.4G phone to go into fits. One SB is ok, so long as I'm not trying to use the
phone to far away from the basestation. My playback, however, is quite good
even when I'm firing files from my notebook to the server over wireless.

If the server can't get around the network issues, then it certainly should
provide better debug feedback and certainly the experience of those who have
found the sourc of the trouble will help others. Native FLAC may eventually
help, but that is something that will be available when its available, and only
IF its relaly possible. All that's been said is that its under investigation.
cheers,
kdf
independant perl hack :)

Kevin O. Lepard
2004-03-13, 23:45
>playback on my two wireless SB's causes my
>2.4G phone to go into fits

This is off-topic, but have you looked into the 5.8G phones? I got
one specifically not to compete with everything else in the 2.4G
band, and I haven't had any problems since doing so.

Kevin
--
Kevin O. Lepard
lepard.kevin (AT) fireserve (DOT) net

Happiness is being 100% Microsoft free.

Pat Farrell
2004-03-14, 02:54
At 04:30 AM 3/14/2004, Simon Turner wrote:
>It is something that happens for me nearly every other track

bummer.

> I have a powerful enough PC (1.8mhz PIV with 512mb of RDRam).

that is tons stronger than mine, a 500mhz with 256MB nameless
and speedless ram.


>Flacs held on networked drive. All flacs ripped using highest compression

Flac playback should be independent of compression ratio.

Have you tried moving your music to the local disk on the computer
with the SlimServer? If nothing else, move a few tens gigabyte
and see if it is still reproducible.

Pat