PDA

View Full Version : SB has brought my network to its knees



RioTubes
2008-06-24, 08:12
I need some help. Lately, after I stream music to SB I can't surf the web or use other devices on the network. After trying various things I have been able to get the web browser working again only to experience the same issue after once again streaming music.

Squeezecenter is installed on a pc with Windows XP. The network is all hardwired: cable from the wall >> Motorola Surfboard 5100 cable modem >> Linksys WRT54GL router >> router LAN jacks as follows:

- SB2
- PC running squeezecenter
- Vonage (via Moto 1005 ATA)

The above hardware config is the "optimal" config as shown on the Slim Networking WIKI. Before this problem developed, I had the Vonage box before the router, but the VOIP calls and surfing were unbearably slow and poor quality. I thought it might be my old Dlink router so I replaced it with the Linksys...and placed it in front of the VOIP box. It was working better than ever; that is until I stream music and then everything else quits.

Is SB hogging all the ports or are there IP conflicts? I'd appreciate any advise...as I cannot bear another 90 minute call with TimeWarner that goes nowhere. Thanks in advance!

iPhone
2008-06-24, 08:51
I need some help. Lately, after I stream music to SB I can't surf the web or use other devices on the network. After trying various things I have been able to get the web browser working again only to experience the same issue after once again streaming music.

Squeezecenter is installed on a pc with Windows XP. The network is all hardwired: cable from the wall >> Motorola Surfboard 5100 cable modem >> Linksys WRT54GL router >> router LAN jacks as follows:

- SB2
- PC running squeezecenter
- Vonage (via Moto 1005 ATA)

The above hardware config is the "optimal" config as shown on the Slim Networking WIKI. Before this problem developed, I had the Vonage box before the router, but the VOIP calls and surfing were unbearably slow and poor quality. I thought it might be my old Dlink router so I replaced it with the Linksys...and placed it in front of the VOIP box. It was working better than ever; that is until I stream music and then everything else quits.

Is SB hogging all the ports or are there IP conflicts? I'd appreciate any advise...as I cannot bear another 90 minute call with TimeWarner that goes nowhere. Thanks in advance!

The SB can't hog the ports, it can only use the port it is on. Can it use bandwidth, it does, but not all the bandwidth of a Linksys router. I also have Vonage VOIP. I am having no issues with anything and I have a larger network due to using both LAN (all four ports, Main PC, Vonage Router, Transporter, SC NAS) and WLAN (2 Desktop PCs, Laptop, Duet, 3 SB3, Controller, iPhone). Is it just the one PC on your wired network?

I would connect as follows which sounds like the way you are connected but let us make sure. First is the Cable Modem, which is connected to the WAN port (Blue) of the Linksys. First yellow port should be your PC, port two your Vonage router, port three your SB2, and port four whatever. Should the router ports matter, not really, but in practice things have always worked easier this way.

Are you using DHCP or do all devices have assigned IP addresses? Are you using a software firewall or active virus scanner? Please describe your PC and OS. What version of SC are you running?

syburgh
2008-06-24, 09:40
Sounds very abnormal-- hard to encounter capacity issues with a single SB. Are you sure the patch cable are good?

radish
2008-06-24, 09:48
When you say streaming music do you mean playing your own files or streaming radio? If so, which station/bitrate? And what's your internet connection (go to http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/ to run a test).

RioTubes
2008-06-24, 11:04
Thanks for all the responses. I'll try to answer your Qs:

Using Squeezecenter 7.0. Just the basic windows firewall incorporated in XP. There are a few virus scanners I use but I'll have to post the names later as I am at work presently.

I don't stream internet radio. I just send flac and wave to SB2.

I have cable internet service that is published at7mb down and I think 512kb up. Once I installed the optimal config as mentioned in post #1, the speed was very fast. I'll do a speed test at home if I can get the connection up.

I think the patch cable is good. I have swapped the shorter cables out between the modem, router and voip for new ones, and things were working fine for a while. The longer cable between the router and the PC has not been changed...but then again SB2 always works regardless if my access to web and vonage are down or up. So this cable works fine.

As far as dynamic or static IPs, this is where I am less conversant. The SB's IP is definitely dynamic. I'm not sure about the IPs for the server PC (on which SC is loaded) and Vonage box.

I had everything running perfectly for a week (without SB cable plugged into the router). Then I plugged it in but did not use SB. Still worked fine. Only when I turned on the stereo and listened through SB did the Web and VOIP go down. This has occurred 2x now.

lanierb
2008-06-24, 12:37
Even with streaming WAV, the SB is using a tiny fraction of your bandwidth so it can't be a bandwidth issue. There's something really strange going on on your network but I can't even speculate what it is. Is it possible you have a virus or something else that is already massively taxing your network?

RioTubes
2008-06-25, 19:41
Assigning static IPs to everything but the WAN and VOIP seemed to do the trick...at least for now. speed test results: 5952 kb/s down, 489kb/s up. Thanks for the help!