PDA

View Full Version : MusicIP question



Zevs
2008-06-13, 13:55
Hi!

I have about 85 % of my music collection marked out with the M symbol indicating that mixing through MusicIP is possible. However, it seems that no new music that I add to my collection get to be mixable in SqueezeCenter. If there is anyone that can give me some help on this I would be very grateful.

Zevs

Siduhe
2008-06-13, 14:11
You need to add the new music to the MusicIP library, then rescan to pick it up in Squeezecenter. Are you running headless or not, and using Linux or not?

Open up the MusicIP application (if you can), let it find and validate your new music, then close MusicIP down. If running headless, open up the MusicIP webui (http://youriphere:10002) and "reload cache". Then depending on how you have Squeezecenter set up, do a full clear and rescan and all your new music should be mixable.

Lots more (better written) info on the spicefly.com pages.

Zevs
2008-06-13, 15:00
Hi Siduhe and thanks for the response!

My new music is already added to MusicIP and it is possible to make mixes in that program with them without any problem. Not sure I if I do headless or not these days (although myself feeling fairly headless saying that I must say :) My operative system is Windows Vista 32-bit version with the SP1 update. Sorry fore being ignorant here but how do I find out my IP address to put in the link you gave me ?

Zevs

Siduhe
2008-06-13, 15:06
It's the IP address of the box that MIP is installed on. Try opening up a web browser on that computer and typing http://localhost:10002 for starters. Look for a box that says "reload cache".

If you aren't running headless however, then a full clear and recan of Squeezecenter should make the music mixable in your library if it is also mixable in MIP.

Zevs
2008-06-13, 15:33
Yes I thought it would be remixable, and I have done several full rescans, but still I do get the same result, i.e. they new music not showing up as mixable.

I have my Service Port setting on 10004, so using the link http://localhost:10004 gives me a page with Active services : API but really nothing there, or opening up the API window that says anything about reloading cache...

Zevs

egd
2008-06-13, 15:35
It's the IP address of the box that MIP is installed on. Try opening up a web browser on that computer and typing http://localhost:10002 for starters. Look for a box that says "reload cache".

If you aren't running headless however, then a full clear and rescan of Squeezecenter should make the music mixable in your library if it is also mixable in MIP.

Siduhe, am I correct assuming that you have Sc also pointed to the path of your audio library? Reason I ask is because I've tried the refresh route on a number of occasions but find that MiP headless does not add new tracks/ albums via this option. I subsequently asked Whicken and he said to use the Add Music option. My problem with this is that whilst it works it forces a full rescan in SC.

kdf
2008-06-13, 15:37
I have my Service Port setting on 10004, so using the link http://localhost:10004 gives me a page with Active services : API

http://localhost:10004/server

That should give you the ability to add music/refresh songs for MusicIP.
-kdf

Siduhe
2008-06-13, 15:40
Siduhe, am I correct assuming that you have Sc also pointed to the path of your audio library? Reason I ask is because I've tried the refresh route on a number of occasions but find that MiP headless does not add new tracks/ albums via this option. I subsequently asked Whicken and he said to use the Add Music option. My problem with this is that whilst it works it forces a full rescan in SC.

Yes, I do have SC pointed to my audio library and reload cache has always worked fine for me. However, I seem to remember someone posting that Reload Cache works well in Windows but not half so well in Linux - could that be relevant to you? Whilst I love MIP and (touch wood) have been pretty lucky with it, it does have a flavour of "dark arts"... ;-)

Zevs
2008-06-13, 15:46
http://localhost:10004/server

That should give you the ability to add music/refresh songs for MusicIP.
-kdf

Hi KDF!

Well that doesn't work at all for some reason, I get just the message:

MusicIP API error - invalid request or internal error.

However just using http://localhost:10004 works, giving me the page I mentioned with the Active services: API message.

Zevs

kdf
2008-06-13, 15:56
Hi KDF!
MusicIP API error - invalid request or internal error.


I would tend to think that if you are getting this message when you try to access the musicip server, then SC is getting this as well when it tries to request the list of songs for scanning. That would present a problem for getting new mix info. Personaly, I only ever see that message when I've only recently restarted the service (after installing a new MusicIP version) and it takes a while to really be up and running.

-kdf

egd
2008-06-13, 17:07
Yes, I do have SC pointed to my audio library and reload cache has always worked fine for me. However, I seem to remember someone posting that Reload Cache works well in Windows but not half so well in Linux - could that be relevant to you? Whilst I love MIP and (touch wood) have been pretty lucky with it, it does have a flavour of "dark arts"... ;-)

Thanks, I am running it under Linux. I'll experiment with a small subset of my library to see if there is something I can do about it. One way that would work (albeit a bit contrived) is to access the NAS' m3lib via a mount from Ubuntu that replicates the exact path to the file on the NAS. After copying the new albums across to the NAS I could then use genpuid to analyse the tracks and use MiP headless's m3lib on on the NAS as the database to append, following which a refresh should achieve the desired result.

Zevs
2008-06-14, 04:15
..well, I'm really cnfuuedabout this. I fiddled a bit and now I do get to the page that you suggested Siduhe, i.e. http://localhost:10002. There are several options on that page, but not really anything called "clear cache", but I assume what was meant was to do "refresh songs" or....?? Anyhow I tried that, then made a complete rescan of my library in SC, and the results was just as before, most of my songs are mixable, but none of the newer ones. Why would there be a difference between new and old songs? When I do "clear library and rescan everything" doesn't all info about mixable tracks and such get deleted before the full rescan? If so how come older tracks come back with the M symbol while newer doesn't ...???

Zevs