PDA

View Full Version : Turning rescan off??!



Vallier
2008-06-10, 21:08
I have recently upgraded to Squeezecentre. In the previous SlimServer, I could instruct the system NOT to rescan the computer every time there was a change in the music play list.

I can't find this in Squeezecentre. Everytime I turn on my computer, it is rescanning my library (which is fairly large). This takes - on average - 38 minutes each time (!!) during which my computer is rendered nearly useless as this process soaks up all of my CPU!

I have tried changing the settings in both the basic and advanced areas, and have tried un-clicking the plug-in but to no avail.

Please - any help with this is greatly appreciated!! I don't want a rescan just becuase I downloaded my daily news podscast!!

mherger
2008-06-11, 00:13
> I can't find this in Squeezecentre. Everytime I turn on my computer, it
> is rescanning my library (which is fairly large). This takes - on

Would the same happen if you stopped SC manually and restarted it a minute
later? Are you running SC as a service (assuming you're on Windows)?

Michael

Vallier
2008-06-11, 02:39
>
Would the same happen if you stopped SC manually and restarted it a minute
later? Are you running SC as a service (assuming you're on Windows)?

Michael

Thanks very much for responding so quickly!

The first part of your question, I will check later today when I get home. As for the second, yes I am on Windows (XP), but not sure what you mean by running SC as a service. I did a regular install of the programme, which has SC start automatically when I start the computer and has it running in the background. I believe SC detects there has been a change to my playlist (for example, after downloading a daily news podcast), and then kicks in with server.exe automatically.

Will come back when I try to stop SC manually and restarting it.

Thanks!
David

mherger
2008-06-11, 02:52
> you mean by running SC as a service. I did a regular install of the
> programme, which has SC start automatically when I start the computer
> and has it running in the background.

I was asking because this is no longer default behaviour. In
Start/Programs/SqueezeCenter you'll find a tool to manage the startup
method. What is it set to?

> I believe SC detects there has
> been a change to my playlist (for example, after downloading a daily
> news podcast), and then kicks in with server.exe automatically.

Are you using iTunes or MusicIP integration?

Michael

Vallier
2008-06-11, 10:19
In Start/Programs/SqueezeCenter you'll find a tool to manage the startup
method. What is it set to?


It is set to "Start SqueezeCentre when I log in". (The only other option I see is "Start SqueezeCentre automatically when the computer starts.")

Are you using iTunes or MusicIP integration?

I am using iTunes.

Would the same happen if you stopped SC manually and restarted it a minute
later?

I tried this, but it didn't work. What I did was: downloaded a podcast to iTunes. Restarted the computer (and kept an eye on the Windows processes). SqueezeCentre starts automatically. As soon as it was fully running, scanner.exe kicked in. I then stopped the SqueezeCentre but the scanner.exe continued to run. I restarted SqueezeCentre and scanner.exe still continued to run.

Thanks again for your continued help!
David

mherger
2008-06-11, 10:53
> was fully running, scanner.exe kicked in. I then stopped the
> SqueezeCentre but the scanner.exe continued to run. I restarted
> SqueezeCentre and scanner.exe still continued to run.

You'll have to let SC finish its scan before shutting down SC.

Michael

Vallier
2008-06-11, 12:03
You'll have to let SC finish its scan before shutting down SC.

Yes, and this is normally the case. If I restart SC afterwards, all is fine. However, the next time there is a change to my music file directory (for example, with a podcast), the whole process starts again.

In Slimserver, there was an option to choose "Do not scan my library or playlists", and this worked fine. I could choose manually when I wanted it to rescan, but I cannot fine any option for this in SC. Thus, scanner.exe keeps starting anytime there is a change (or when I restart my computer after a change).

Many thanks,
David

ipxlittle
2008-06-11, 13:42
In Start/Programs/SqueezeCenter you'll find a tool
[B]Are you using iTunes or MusicIP integration?

I am using iTunes.

Would the same happen if you stopped SC manually and restarted it a minute
later?


Thanks again for your continued help!
David

If you are using iTunes then set the reload time in the SC7 iTunes settings
to 0 . If set to any nonzero value I find that restarting SC7 causes the
scan to start. I control all my scanning via the scheduled scan option.

Vallier
2008-06-11, 21:11
If you are using iTunes then set the reload time in the SC7 iTunes settings
to 0 . If set to any nonzero value I find that restarting SC7 causes the
scan to start. I control all my scanning via the scheduled scan option.

I tried the above (it was set to 3600), and it has worked perfectly!

Many thanks for everyone's assistance with this. Scanner.exe was starting to drive me a bit round the bend.

Thanks!

ezkcdude
2008-06-12, 03:42
Similarly, if you use MusicIP, set the Reload Interval=0.