PDA

View Full Version : Using MediaMonkey with squeezeCenter



Trevor
2008-06-10, 07:14
I've recently started using MediaMonkey for converting all my flacs to mp3 and synching to iPod. I must say I'm very pleased with the this software. It also has some great visualisations.

What I'm wondering is if there is a way to control my SqueezeBox3 or my SqueezeBox receiver using MediaMonkey?
I can open the SqueezeCenter url in MediaMonkey e.g.
http://192.168.0.14:9000/stream.mp3
and MediaMonkey shows up in the SqueezeCenter
but that isn't quite what I want as it just plays the music through my computer.

Basically, what I'm trying to achieve is when I have a party to play my music through my SqueezeBox which is connected to my stereo in my lounge and at the same time use my laptop to display the MediaMonkey visualisations onto a screen using my data projector.

According to the SqueezeCenter settings, the ip address for the Squeezebox is
192.168.0.11:38591
So I've tried connecting MediaMonkey to
http://192.168.0.11:38591/stream.mp3
but no joy.

Is there a way to achieve what I'm trying?
Trev

tipsen
2008-06-10, 09:02
I think MediaMonkey and SqueezeBox will appear and work as different players from the SqueezeCenter point of view. But you can try synchronizing these two players in the webinterface - depending on the magnitude of the lag in the software-player this might work.

Trevor
2008-06-10, 09:19
Thanks for the suggestion.
I tried synchronizing - If I select "synchronize" with the Squeezebox active, the MediaMonkey device is greyed-out. If I select "synchronize" with the MediaMonkey active, then it plays through the computer but the Squeezebox stops.

Maybe it just can't be done at the moment?

tcutting
2008-06-10, 09:24
I think you're going about it backwards...
I don't think you can use Media Monkey to control squeezecenter.
You might try the following, however, if you want to use the Media Monkey visualizaations:
Use Media Monkey to point to the SqueezeCenter:
http://192.168.0.14:9000/stream.mp3
IF (big if, haven't tried) you can synchronize this stream to your "real" audio stream (the stream to your squeezebox). Then you could mute the Media Monkey audio, but use its visualization, and use the SqueezeBox for the audio.

Siduhe
2008-06-10, 09:49
AFAIK, you can't sync stream.mp3 with a hardware SB (only Softsqueeze or similar):

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=42336&highlight=synchronise+stream.mp3

GlenL
2008-06-10, 11:04
This thread http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=21124 may be worth a look.

Haven't tried it myself so I can't comment but it sounds like it might achieve what you want.

Trevor
2008-06-10, 13:36
Thanks - I'll give it a go. I'll let you know how I get on.