PDA

View Full Version : new user / 802.11n?

jsa307
2008-06-09, 20:06
I'm new to streaming digital media, but was thinking about purchasing a squeezebox. After reading about it, one of the only downsides seems to be lack of support for 802.11n networking. Are there any squeezebox alternatives that support 802.11n? Is the squeezebox still the way to go? Everything else I've read about it seems to be great ..

Thanks!

pfarrell
2008-06-09, 20:12
jsa307 wrote:
> I'm new to streaming digital media, but was thinking about purchasing a
> squeezebox. After reading about it, one of the only downsides seems to
> be lack of support for 802.11n networking. Are there any squeezebox
> alternatives that support 802.11n? Is the squeezebox still the way to
> go? Everything else I've read about it seems to be great ..

11n is not standardized.

11G works great, as does CAT5 wiring.

--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

Ben Sandee
2008-06-09, 20:53
On Mon, Jun 9, 2008 at 10:06 PM, jsa307 <
jsa307.3arr6n1213067401 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> I'm new to streaming digital media, but was thinking about purchasing a
> squeezebox. After reading about it, one of the only downsides seems to
> be lack of support for 802.11n networking. Are there any squeezebox
> alternatives that support 802.11n? Is the squeezebox still the way to
> go? Everything else I've read about it seems to be great ..

Keep in mind the adding a dot-G device to a dot-N network does NOT have the
same massive performance penalty that adding a dot-B device does to a dot-G
network. The SB really doesn't need the bandwidth and as Pat mentioned,
dot-N is still not standardized. I'm sure there will be a future device
that is upgraded, but if the dot-G support is your only downside then I'd
say go ahead and pull the trigger and get a SB.

Ben

iPhone
2008-06-09, 21:11