PDA

View Full Version : Can Not Connect Sb3 With Wpa2 Security



lreinstein
2008-05-31, 09:58
I have successfully been using SB3 on my network with the Apple Time Capsule (TC) and the MacBook Pro. Today I decided to add some security to the system and entered a WPA2 personal security password to the wireless network.

I then tried to have the SB3 find my network (it does) and I get up to the point where it asks me for my WPA2 password. I try to key in the password letters with the remote ...but NO letters appear...and very soon the SB3 reboots and I see the large LOGITECH logo.

I have tried this several times. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

Larry

dean
2008-05-31, 11:29
Make sure you are updated to the latest SqueezeCenter and Squeezebox firmware. A recent Apple firmware update introduced an incompatibility, which is fixed in the latest Squeezebox firmware.

lreinstein
2008-05-31, 13:09
dean,

what firmware version should i be at? it was quite an effort finally getting the SB3 to talk to and play well with Time Capsule...i am afraid if i change it that I will mess it up so they wont communicate.

dean
2008-05-31, 15:55
Make sure you are running SqueezeCenter 7.0.1, which will provide the
right firmware to your Squeezebox

G-dude
2009-03-03, 23:31
dean,

what firmware version should i be at? it was quite an effort finally getting the SB3 to talk to and play well with Time Capsule...i am afraid if i change it that I will mess it up so they wont communicate.

I agree that the Time Capsule is hard to get working right...it just seems flaky. I used to have an old Linksys WRT-54G router and a Iomega NAS (which isn't even a Mac format) and it worked reliably.

The Time Capsule seems to go to sleep and then SqueezeCenter cannot even see it (I can tell if I try to change to a new music folder in SqueezeCenter). The old Iomega didn't ever seem to go to sleep (a bit noisy but always there when it was needed).

Also it seems to set up two volumes for itself (Time Capsule and for some reason another called Time Capsule-1). So my SB Duet cannot find my music and it turns out it is now on the other volume (crazy!).

Anyway, for Squeezebox I would say my Time Capsule is a $500 piece of Junk.

BTW...Time Capsule also does not support QoS (whatever that is) but it means that its router blows up a lot when downloading and needs a reboot. I think that is also why it is so unreliable for SB purposes.

PLUS the wireless range is tooo weak for my house, which isn't that big, and my old Linksys could do it easily from out in the yard or wherever.