PDA

View Full Version : MusicIP Rocks!

Pages : [1] 2

maggior
2008-05-29, 19:27
Sorry, but I just have to share my new enthusiasm for this plugin :-).

I've been using a squeezebox for 1 1/2 years now and have just recently discovered the magic of MusicIP! I saw it discussed in a thread here and based on what was said about it, I thought I'd give it a whirl.

Wow!! I have a library that is currently 20,000+ tracks and growing. So, when I have time to listen to music, it is often challenging to think of an album I feel like listening to.

MusicIP makes it easy. Just find a song, artist, or genre that appeals to you at the moment, and press-and-hold play. A playlist is created instantly that is guaranteed to appeal to you. I'm still amazed how it will pull tracks from totally different genres that fit together. It is so much better than random shuffling a genre or a group of artists. It's like having a DJ that understands your current mood and will play tracks from your library to fit.

Here's a link to the Wiki article about it:
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/MusicMagicMixer

Rest assured that the free version is all you need (which is unbelievable). I got this all up and running on Linux in less than an hour.

Always something new to discover - that's what I love about music and the SqueezeBox.

mkanet
2008-05-29, 20:31
How is it different from Pandora? Pandora actually uses a gigantic database which holds song information about the RPM of the songs, instruments used, style. My only complaint is if you listen to the same station long enough, you start hearing the same songs again.

BigTony
2008-05-30, 00:06
Your experience is totally different from mine.
After MusicIP finally managed to crawl through all my music collection, it flatly refused to talk with Squeeze Center, and no amout of tweaking and fiddling about over came this problem. In the end after a week of trying I removed it. Maybe it doesn't play nice with Windows :-)

BT

mherger