PDA

View Full Version : SO frustrated



jbloewheedle
2008-05-24, 15:13
I am sorry if this is just a rant, but I am so frustrated with Squeezecenter and the Squeezebox. I can understand why internet radio is flakey, but how can Squeezebox (newest version) be so buggy? What on earth is Logitech thinking releasing garbage like this?

pfarrell
2008-05-24, 15:28
jbloewheedle wrote:
> I am sorry if this is just a rant, but I am so frustrated with
> Squeezecenter and the Squeezebox. I can understand why internet radio
> is flakey, but how can Squeezebox (newest version) be so buggy? What on
> earth is Logitech thinking releasing garbage like this?

"The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars,
But in ourselves"

If you are willing to calm down, stop ranting and tell us what is
happening, your OS and network setup, etc. we can probably halp.

I've been running the 7 series SqueezeCenter for many months. It works
well for me.


--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

jbloewheedle
2008-05-24, 15:41
Ok, I've taken a deep breath. I am running squeezecenter 7.0 on Windows XP. I added all my CD's using EAC. In squeezecenter I have a lot of problems doing simple stuff like veiwing albums (it hangs). Today for the first time I tried making a playlist for a BIG party we are having tonight (hence my ill advised freak out).
I can add about 20 songs then the right hand screen goes into "loading" mode and thats all she wrote.

CatBus
2008-05-24, 15:41
Have to agree. SC7 has been great here too, and I'm really enjoying the sync improvements in particular. If you're having specific, identifiable issues, they can probably be fixed.

If you just wanted to vent, well, you can do that too. But you vent alone.

CatBus
2008-05-24, 15:45
Just saw your reply, dang those mid-air collisions.

So, what's your setup like? Wired/wireless? How's the server connected to the network?

Completely anecdotally and unscientifically, whenever SlimServer/SqueezeCenter suddenly stops working, 9 times out of 10 it works great again when it's hooked up using all-wired connections, and something's changed in the wireless setup (the neighbors just bought a new draft-N router or somesuch). i.e. SqueezeCenter is only as stable as the network it's hooked up to.

kdf
2008-05-24, 15:53
Do you have any anti-virus software installed? If so, make sure you
look in the settings of the antivirus software in order to tell it to
specifically NOT scan *.MYI and *.MYD files.

This is a known problem when running on windows, as the database
software used by SqueezeCenter seems to have a problem when its
temporary files are being scanned by AV software.

A common symptom is as you have described, pages that just seem to
hang. If you look in the server log (server settings->advanced-
>logging) you'll probably see something about files with an
extension like the two above.

cheers,
kdf
On 24-May-08, at 3:41 PM, jbloewheedle wrote:

>
> Ok, I've taken a deep breath. I am running squeezecenter 7.0 on
> Windows
> XP. I added all my CD's using EAC. In squeezecenter I have a lot of
> problems doing simple stuff like veiwing albums (it hangs). Today for
> the first time I tried making a playlist for a BIG party we are having
> tonight (hence my ill advised freak out).
> I can add about 20 songs then the right hand screen goes into
> "loading"
> mode and thats all she wrote.
>
>
> --
> jbloewheedle
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> jbloewheedle's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=14772
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=48065
>
>

jbloewheedle
2008-05-24, 18:00
The anti-virus may have something do do with it, seems a little stabler.
I am running a wireless setup with a dlink router, other computers run ok using this router. I am a little confused tho - if I am trying to simply make a playlist wouldn't that be independent of the wireless setup?

radish
2008-05-25, 10:44
I am a little confused tho - if I am trying to simply make a playlist wouldn't that be independent of the wireless setup?
Yes, assuming you're using a browser on the same machine as SC.

DMR NYC
2008-05-26, 02:31
I was having similar probs w Squeeze Center performance, stumbled on this thread, and excepted those files from antivirus scanning. Everything's fine, now. Appreciate the tip. (It's really kdf who's post covered the anti-virus issue; thank you, kdf!!)