PDA

View Full Version : Controller Device Name



web161
2008-05-22, 11:07
Hello all,

Received my Controller last week and I'm loving it. My wife used it for the first time last night. She picked it up and learned it within 15 minutes. She loves it as well. Couldn't ask for anything more.

But...

I'm connecting to my wireless LAN and using DHCP for address assignment. No problems there with authentication or lease renewal. When I check my DHCP table, I see the Controller listed with a device name of "*". Is there any way to change this to something more meaningful? I looked it both the SqueezeCenter settings pages and the settings on the Controller. I must be overlooking it. Could anyone steer me in the right direction.

web

kdf
2008-05-22, 11:13
>
> I see the Controller listed with a device
> name of "*". Is there any way to change this to something more
> meaningful?

not at this time. see:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=5919

-kdf

web161
2008-05-22, 11:17
Thanks. Have a nice day.

web

kdf
2008-05-22, 11:54
>
> Thanks.

If you have the ability to create a static dhcp table on your router, then
you can assign a hostname there.

Other than that, the bug is currently targetted for 7.1 so hopefully not
too long before there is a fix. 7.2 is adding the ability to play music on
the controller, so that will make it a standard client. Certainly by
then, it would have the same ability to name as the current players.

> Have a nice day.

and you.

-kdf