PDA

View Full Version : The one thing that caught me out

Alastair McAulay
2008-05-22, 08:57
I'm fairly new to the world of audio streaming, audio file format's etc. However, although I am not a Linux hacker I am technically literate and won't faint at the sight of a UNIX command line.

Essentially I was looking for a way to make my middle sized (300ish) CD collection more accessible, without compromising sound quality. I am not a massive hi fi snob but I like to listen to music properly and I can't stand compressed music - I don't for example want an iPod.

So I recently took the plunge and bought a NAS (a QNAP 109 pro with 500g of disk) and a Slimserver and got down to some serious CD ripping. Setting aside a quick trial run on what format I established that FLAC was (for me) the best format (and that WMA lossless won't necessarily work anyway.

I used DBPoweramp running on a Quadcore Vista powered Dell desktop and on an XP laptop to do the ripping and it "appeared" to do a pretty good job - only obvious gremlin was that the NAS needed a firmware upgrade to interface without occassional annoying hanging with both the XP and Vista machines.

The big thing that caught me out was that not all of my collection was visible in the Slimserver index. Tracks that were on the NAS and were playable from Microsoft media player (with added FLAC codec), they just didn't show in the index on the Slimserver. And there was no pattern to it - some CDs were fine, some had a missing track, some had 4 or 5 missing tracks. I tried reindexing numerous times to no avail.