PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Two Computers, One Squeezebox



David Cullen
2004-03-01, 23:52
Dan wrote:
>when I connect my second computer (W2K pro)
and run slimserver (with the old computer turned off)
I have to restart Squeezebox for it to recognize the
new box. when I switch back to the old box I have to
restart Squeezebox again. Is this right?

I would have thought this would be the case as the SB auto-sets up and
retains the settings of the pc running the Slimserver. In order to get it to
look for a new server you have to power cycle it to force it to look for
Slimserver again.

>Second, the new box is sending commands to Squeezebox
and the Sqeezebox is working fine except that it is
not playing music. It thinks it is playing music but
it is not. The "Now Playing" is showing the song with
the seconds progressing, without any sound. Any idea
why this is the case?

Not sure why this is as I am not a techy (just a very happy user!) but
presume it is related to above. It also happens with my setup. Stopping and
restarting slimserver (control panel, administrative options, services) will
allow the SB to properly play the new tracks you have added. Or simply
reboot the pc running slimserver as this will have the same effect.

Not sure about your third question - sorry!

seanadams
2004-03-02, 09:39
Right now only one server at a time is supported, but we are planning
to add some smarts for switching between servers without having to step
through the network setup. Actually, another idea we've been kicking
around is to make the servers communicate with each other and merge
music libraries.

Anyway, one tip to make things easier for the time being: you shouldn't
ever have to power-cycle the squeezebox - just press and hold "power"
to go back to the setup menu.

Another possibility, BTW, is to just run one server and use file
sharing to make the music on both machines accessible.

On Mar 1, 2004, at 10:52 PM, David Cullen wrote:

> Dan wrote:
>> when I connect my second computer (W2K pro)
> and run slimserver (with the old computer turned off)
> I have to restart Squeezebox for it to recognize the
> new box. when I switch back to the old box I have to
> restart Squeezebox again. Is this right?
>
> I would have thought this would be the case as the SB auto-sets up and
> retains the settings of the pc running the Slimserver. In order to get
> it to
> look for a new server you have to power cycle it to force it to look
> for
> Slimserver again.
>
>> Second, the new box is sending commands to Squeezebox
> and the Sqeezebox is working fine except that it is
> not playing music. It thinks it is playing music but
> it is not. The "Now Playing" is showing the song with
> the seconds progressing, without any sound. Any idea
> why this is the case?
>
> Not sure why this is as I am not a techy (just a very happy user!) but
> presume it is related to above. It also happens with my setup.
> Stopping and
> restarting slimserver (control panel, administrative options,
> services) will
> allow the SB to properly play the new tracks you have added. Or simply
> reboot the pc running slimserver as this will have the same effect.
>
> Not sure about your third question - sorry!
>
>
>

whump@mac.com
2004-03-02, 10:52
On Mar 2, 2004, at 8:39 AM, Sean Adams wrote:

> Right now only one server at a time is supported, but we are planning
> to add some smarts for switching between servers without having to
> step through the network setup.

+1

> Actually, another idea we've been kicking around is to make the
> servers communicate with each other and merge music libraries.

+1

-- whump

Pat Farrell
2004-03-02, 11:05
At 11:39 AM 3/2/2004, Sean Adams wrote:
> Actually, another idea we've been kicking around is to make the servers
> communicate with each other and merge music libraries.

I have code that we wrote for our internet music server (back before the RIAA
killed the idea) that did cache management between servers. You'd ask
for a song, and if one server didn't have it, it would do a background fetch
to the others. So it appeared as one big server. We explictly did not
want a global merge, because we kept certain songs on specific
servers for management reasons (think all pop on one, all classical
on another). I'm more than willing to contribute that code once I get
my feet wet on simpler development tasks.


>Another possibility, BTW, is to just run one server and use file sharing
>to make the music on both machines accessible.

This is such an easy solution, everyone should try it first. It is trivial
on Linux and Windows boxes (I can't spell Mac) but I bet it is easy
on Macs as well.

Pat

kdf
2004-03-02, 11:34
Quoting Pat Farrell <pfarrell (AT) pfarrell (DOT) com>:

> At 11:39 AM 3/2/2004, Sean Adams wrote:
> > Actually, another idea we've been kicking around is to make the servers
> > communicate with each other and merge music libraries.
>
> I have code that we wrote for our internet music server (back before the
> RIAA
> killed the idea) that did cache management between servers. You'd ask
> for a song, and if one server didn't have it, it would do a background fetch
> to the others. So it appeared as one big server. We explictly did not
> want a global merge, because we kept certain songs on specific
> servers for management reasons (think all pop on one, all classical
> on another). I'm more than willing to contribute that code once I get
> my feet wet on simpler development tasks.

Sounds like an ideal way to deal with it. It has the added bonus of preventing
confusion when songs on remote libraries might not have the same performance due
to network traffic. Being separate and cached, it easy to track which songs are
local and which are not.

-kdf

ubiqwi
2004-03-11, 12:03
There is one simpler case that we also need to solve :

A friend comes in with his notebook and wants me to hear a song

"Hey, just activate iTunes sharing".

Once you start the caching server, I'll add another "subclass" to
handle iTunes Sharing as another repository. I've heard that inferior
players handle UPNP music servers. We might want to add this as well.

Frédéric

On 2 mars 04, at 17:39, Sean Adams wrote:

>
> Right now only one server at a time is supported, but we are planning
> to add some smarts for switching between servers without having to
> step through the network setup. Actually, another idea we've been
> kicking around is to make the servers communicate with each other and
> merge music libraries.
>
> Anyway, one tip to make things easier for the time being: you
> shouldn't ever have to power-cycle the squeezebox - just press and
> hold "power" to go back to the setup menu.
>
> Another possibility, BTW, is to just run one server and use file
> sharing to make the music on both machines accessible.
>
> On Mar 1, 2004, at 10:52 PM, David Cullen wrote:
>
>> Dan wrote:
>>> when I connect my second computer (W2K pro)
>> and run slimserver (with the old computer turned off)
>> I have to restart Squeezebox for it to recognize the
>> new box. when I switch back to the old box I have to
>> restart Squeezebox again. Is this right?
>>
>> I would have thought this would be the case as the SB auto-sets up and
>> retains the settings of the pc running the Slimserver. In order to
>> get it to
>> look for a new server you have to power cycle it to force it to look
>> for
>> Slimserver again.
>>
>>> Second, the new box is sending commands to Squeezebox
>> and the Sqeezebox is working fine except that it is
>> not playing music. It thinks it is playing music but
>> it is not. The "Now Playing" is showing the song with
>> the seconds progressing, without any sound. Any idea
>> why this is the case?
>>
>> Not sure why this is as I am not a techy (just a very happy user!) but
>> presume it is related to above. It also happens with my setup.
>> Stopping and
>> restarting slimserver (control panel, administrative options,
>> services) will
>> allow the SB to properly play the new tracks you have added. Or simply
>> reboot the pc running slimserver as this will have the same effect.
>>
>> Not sure about your third question - sorry!
>>
>>
>>