PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox Receiver and Controller now shipping!



mvalera
2008-05-07, 11:45
Hey all,

You'll all be happy to hear that we're now shipping both the Squeezebox Receiver and Controller to all countries served by the Slimdevices.com ecom store.

Logitech will follow on soon with the rest of the world.

Get em while they're hot!

Squeezebox Controller (http://www.slimdevices.com/pi_controller.html?utm_source=Forum&utm_medium=Forum_Post&utm_content=Controller&utm_campaign=Controller_Launch)
Squeezebox Receiver (http://www.slimdevices.com/pi_receiver.html?utm_source=Forum&utm_medium=Forum_Post&utm_content=Receiver&utm_campaign=Controller_Launch)

Mike

Shredder
2008-05-07, 19:03
Excellent. Just bought my Controller. Very excited.

peter
2008-05-07, 22:56
mvalera wrote:
> Hey all,
>
> You'll all be happy to hear that we're now shipping both the Squeezebox
> Receiver and Controller to all countries served by the Slimdevices.com
> ecom store.
>
> Logitech will follow on soon with the rest of the world.
>
> Get em while they're hot!
>
> 'Squeezebox Controller'
> (http://www.slimdevices.com/pi_controller.html?utm_source=Forum&utm_medium=Forum_Post&utm_content=Controller&utm_campaign=Controller_Launch)
> ' Squeezebox Receiver'
> (http://www.slimdevices.com/pi_receiver.html?utm_source=Forum&utm_medium=Forum_Post&utm_content=Receiver&utm_campaign=Controller_Launch)
>
> Mike
>

I think the separate controller could be marketed to people who don't
have any other SD hardware as well. I know a few people who live in
studio appartments and play their music from the computer but who could
benefit from having a smart remote to control their computer (which
could just be running SC and SoftSqueeze).

Regards,
Peter

Howard Passman
2008-05-08, 03:01
Hadn't seen your message, but check the web site every morning. I just bought my second receiver.

NOW, GET TO WORK AND MAKE THE 3rd PARTY PLUG-INS SANCTIONED LOGITECH PLUG-IN'S!!!!!!! :-)

Seriously, this *could* be a super cool product if some of the ideas that others have tried to make work could be mainstream. It's cool, but it could be SUUUPPERRRR COOOOLLLLL (use echo)

Bests,

Howard

autopilot
2008-05-08, 09:56
Good stuff. Any idea when/if spares will be available such as a charging docks?

mvalera
2008-05-08, 11:20
No timeline on those yet, but we do intend to add them for sale.

Mike

vitoruch
2008-05-08, 13:18
Yes dude, congratulations! : )

PS: do you know if 3rd part plugins for standalone receiver Setup are already operacional?




Hey all,

You'll all be happy to hear that we're now shipping both the Squeezebox Receiver and Controller to all countries served by the Slimdevices.com ecom store.

billingsgate
2008-05-09, 01:44
Just curious (and call me stupid if this info is on the website, because I don't see it), in terms of internal hardware and sound quality, are the Receiver and my SqueezeBox 3 essentially the same, or not? I'm considering getting more devices for my home, and not sure which to look at.

Secondly, does the controller easily switch between wireless networks? I live in a 3-story house made entirely of steel-reinforced concrete. Each floor must have its own separate wireless bridge, since the wireless signal can't penetrate between floors. Each bridge has its own frequency and security PIN, so when a wireless device moves from one floor to another it has to log on as if to a new network (all these bridges are different brands, so that's how I have to do it), though they all connect to the same home network. So the question is: if I carry the Controller between floors, it will lose one signal and locate another. Can I save multiple security settings in it so that it automatically logs on each time it loses one signal and finds another?

Anyone who has the patience to read and figure out my question and respond will be blessed with gratitude.

morris_minor
2008-05-09, 09:11
Just curious (and call me stupid if this info is on the website, because I don't see it), in terms of internal hardware and sound quality, are the Receiver and my SqueezeBox 3 essentially the same, or not? I'm considering getting more devices for my home, and not sure which to look at.

The SB3 and SBR use different DACs, and you should head over to the audiophile forum to find out if one's better than the other. For most people, the performance will be equally good! The main difference between the two is the lack of display on the Receiver, and the pricing. Eventually the Receiver and Controller will be sold separately, so you can add cheaper Receivers to your system without doubling up on Controllers. One controller can control any number of SB3/SBR/Transporters since it connects to Squeezecenter, not the devices themselves.

Since I don't use my controller on multiple wireless networks I'll have to pass on that one . . .

Bob

mvalera
2008-05-09, 09:35
Eventually the Receiver and Controller will be sold separately, so you can add cheaper Receivers to your system without doubling up on Controllers.

Ummm... that's actually the point of this post. They're for sale right now on our ecom store. :)

mvalera
2008-05-09, 10:17
Just curious (and call me stupid if this info is on the website, because I don't see it), in terms of internal hardware and sound quality, are the Receiver and my SqueezeBox 3 essentially the same, or not? I'm considering getting more devices for my home, and not sure which to look at.

They are essentially the same, but the Receiver has no headphone jack, and a lower cost but still high quality DAC.


Secondly, does the controller easily switch between wireless networks? I live in a 3-story house made entirely of steel-reinforced concrete. Each floor must have its own separate wireless bridge, since the wireless signal can't penetrate between floors. Each bridge has its own frequency and security PIN, so when a wireless device moves from one floor to another it has to log on as if to a new network (all these bridges are different brands, so that's how I have to do it), though they all connect to the same home network. So the question is: if I carry the Controller between floors, it will lose one signal and locate another. Can I save multiple security settings in it so that it automatically logs on each time it loses one signal and finds another?

You can easily switch wireless networks... the only thing is your setup is not ideal.

If you put an wireless access point on each floor, use the same SSID on each, and only vary the channel (1,6,11)you won't have to switch networks. This is assuming you have them all connected to your router via a wired connection.

Mike

morris_minor
2008-05-09, 11:09
Ummm... that's actually the point of this post. They're for sale right now on our ecom store. :)

Err - not from Logitech UK . . . yet . . .

JJZolx
2008-05-09, 11:26
Just curious (and call me stupid if this info is on the website, because I don't see it), in terms of internal hardware and sound quality, are the Receiver and my SqueezeBox 3 essentially the same, or not? I'm considering getting more devices for my home, and not sure which to look at.

From what I've gathered, using the Receiver without the Controller is not officially supported. I would assume they're beig sold as added players for installations that already have a Controller or for advanced users willing to use third-party software needed for setting up the Receiver without a Controller.

mvalera
2008-05-09, 13:35
From what I've gathered, using the Receiver without the Controller is not officially supported. I would assume they're beig sold as added players for installations that already have a Controller or for advanced users willing to use third-party software needed for setting up the Receiver without a Controller.

Correct, we will only support users with Squeezebox Controllers at this point. Use of the in dev setup plugin will not be officialy supported.

Mike

Mnyb
2008-05-09, 23:46
Correct, we will only support users with Squeezebox Controllers at this point. Use of the in dev setup plugin will not be officialy supported.

Mike

Make this very clear at your shopping site and elsewhere, otherwise folks are going to buy the SBR only and have problems.

It's not only the setup procedure, try switching to SqueezeNetwork with out an controller ;-)

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=7993

It's not supposed to work, no controller no SqueezeNetwork.

mvalera
2008-05-12, 11:03
It is already noted on our product page and in the store. Most or our resellers will not be carrying the Receiver for that very reason.

On the Receiver product page it's in orange.

Err, it was in orange... must have changed when we did the new site skin.

Mike

aubuti
2008-05-12, 12:06
NOW, GET TO WORK AND MAKE THE 3rd PARTY PLUG-INS SANCTIONED LOGITECH PLUG-IN'S!!!!!!! :-)

Seriously, this *could* be a super cool product if some of the ideas that others have tried to make work could be mainstream. It's cool, but it could be SUUUPPERRRR COOOOLLLLL (use echo)
Many of the standard out-of-the-box features of SqueezeCenter reflect the integration of what started out as 3rd party plugins: Favorites, AudioScrobbler, Random Mix, and integration with iTunes and MusicIP are just a few examples. Like Firefox, 3rd party plugins are there for the "unsanctioned" unofficial creative minds. Some of them get folded into future releases as standard features, some stay 3rd party, and new ones are born. That's how a lot of open source products work, and it has served SB well.

FredFredrickson
2008-05-12, 18:00
AHhh crap! I'm totally broke. But I want 2 more receivers right now! Please don't let them dissapear before I have more cash!! PLEASE!!!

[edit, two hours later], I couldn't stop myself. I plunked myself an order on the credit card!

blitzbbffl
2008-05-13, 09:36
Using my SB3 for years. Connected to my 802.11g nework.
This AM rec'd email from SD saying RECEIVER and CONTROLLER are now for sale separately. I want to buy a RECEIVER and install it in my living room, and synch it with my existing SB3. Went to order the RECEIVER and the page says you need the CONTROLLER to set up the RECEIVER.

QUESTION: Can the RECEIVER be configured w/o the CONTROLLER?
And be synchronized with my existing SB3?

Thank you in advance,
Dennis

peter
2008-05-13, 09:49
blitzbbffl wrote:
> Using my SB3 for years. Connected to my 802.11g nework.
> This AM rec'd email from SD saying RECEIVER and CONTROLLER are now for
> sale separately. I want to buy a RECEIVER and install it in my living
> room, and synch it with my existing SB3. Went to order the RECEIVER
> and the page says you need the CONTROLLER to set up the RECEIVER.
>
> QUESTION: Can the RECEIVER be configured w/o the CONTROLLER?
>

There's a beta-tool to do that from a wired connection, haven't tried it
myself:

http://projects.robinbowes.com/trac/Net-UDAP

> And be synchronized with my existing SB3?
>

Of course.

Regards,
Peter

JimC
2008-05-13, 10:08
QUESTION: Can the RECEIVER be configured w/o the CONTROLLER?

Not officially. As Peter said, there's an unofficial plug-in that does it, but it requires a wired connection (which can be temporary for the configuration only) as well as a more intimate knowledge of your network configuration.



And be synchronized with my existing SB3?

Absolutely. In all respects, the Squeezebox Receiver is simply another player in the overall Squeezebox family. Whatever you can do with an SB2/3--with the exception of a display and a headphone/IR out jack--you can do with the SBR.


-=> Jim

Mitch Harding
2008-05-13, 10:57
I'd also heard that bridging is not yet officially supported. True?

On Tue, May 13, 2008 at 12:08 PM, JimC <
JimC.39czen1210698602 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> > And be synchronized with my existing SB3?
>
> Absolutely. In all respects, the Squeezebox Receiver is simply another
> player in the overall Squeezebox family. Whatever you can do with an
> SB2/3--with the exception of a display and a headphone/IR out jack--you
> can do with the SBR.
>
>
> -=> Jim
>
>
> --
> JimC
>
> "well, she wasn't all of that, but she sure was some of that." --
> BKlaas' college buddy
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> JimC's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=9428
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=47354
>
>

radish
2008-05-13, 12:26
I'd also heard that bridging is not yet officially supported. True?


I believe so, yes. Briding can however be enabled with the plugin JimC mentioned.

kdf
2008-05-13, 13:14
>
> Mitch Harding;301620 Wrote:
>> I'd also heard that bridging is not yet officially supported. True?
>>
>
> I believe so, yes. Briding can however be enabled with the plugin JimC
> mentioned.

I can confirm it. I use a receiver to bridge my networked printer. you
do need the Net-Udap tool to enable it. Connect the Reciever via wired
until you have it configured. Set the bridge_en to 1, save and reset.
Then when you connect the receiver wirelessly, whatever you connect to
the wired port will be bridged.

-k

blitzbbffl
2008-05-13, 14:56
Peter - Thanks for the link. I took a look at it and it certainly looks real.
I'll probably wait on confirmed viability.

SD's pricing on the Duet may be derived as a market position relative to Sonos technology, but $400 for that product seems wrong to this long time electronics consumer. At a minimum - I thought that SlimDevices/Logitec should have offered their loyal existing technology holders a $50 to $100 credit on the purchase of a Duet.

Dennis

mvalera
2008-05-13, 16:42
I just have to reiterate... we will not support any problems with or related to the setup of a Squeezebox Receiver with Robin's plug-in.

Therefore the use of this plug-in is not recommended unless you are an advanced user that can self-support any issues that come up during or after the install.

Mike

peter
2008-05-13, 22:29
blitzbbffl wrote:
> Peter - Thanks for the link. I took a look at it and it certainly looks
> real.
> I'll probably wait on confirmed viability.
>

Others have used it successfully, but you have to know a little more
about networking to use it. Setup via the controller is a breeze in
comparison.
> SD's pricing on the Duet may be derived as a market position relative
> to Sonos technology, but $400 for that product seems wrong to this long
> time electronics consumer. At a minimum - I thought that
> SlimDevices/Logitec should have offered their loyal existing technology
> holders a $50 to $100 credit on the purchase of a Duet.
>

That would be great, but I guess they have to make a profit as well. ;)
In my opinion, the controller is the real gem in the duet, but then I
already have 4 SB3's

Regards,
Peter

86atc250r
2008-05-13, 23:07
SD's pricing on the Duet may be derived as a market position relative to Sonos technology, but $400 for that product seems wrong to this long time electronics consumer.

Considering it's only $100 more than a regular SB3, the price seems pretty good for what you're getting. Considering it's substantially less than it's nearest competitor, it seems even better.

With the receivers being available for $150 by themselves, it brings populating the house with "zones" that don't necessarily need a display of their own within reach of a much wider audience - and with the SBC, you get a really slick way to control them.

The SBC really brings the system together & is a pretty slick piece of technology that will only get better with time....

alex_london
2008-05-15, 10:02
Logitech will follow on soon with the rest of the world.


Any idea how soon "soon" is? I'm considering moving to Barbados just to buy a controller (as an added benefit the weather should be much better than London!)

-Alex

ninthsrw2
2008-05-15, 11:21
I received the Controller the other day. Thank you for selling it individually so quickly after the Duet launch. I'm very impressed with all the features it is packing, and look forward to its evolution. However, I do have one minor gripe that I am wondering about: the high gloss black finish seems to scratch very easily, so easily that gently placing it in the charger, or removing it from the charger, can cause minor scratching. The mat black finish seems to show finger prints too, even when handled with very clean hands. Are there any plans to offer a plastic laminate cover, or maybe silicon skin thing a la iPod case? maybe a model with aluminum case for a bit more $? Or is it possible that I got unlucky and received an early production model for which the polymer science wasn't quite perfected? Any ideas or solutions would be appreciated. In all fairness, the Controller looks great, and generally seems to be a hearty device. The one-handed usability is nice too, especially considering any comparable solution / competitors product requires two hands to operate.

nieldm
2008-05-15, 11:35
I am sure I am just being dumb here, but nowhere above can I find explicitly stated, that the Controller works with SB3's. I have three SB3's connected to a wireless network around my apartment and the controller would simplify my life a lot.

To be clear, my question is, will the controller work with my existing configuration, without the Receiver?

Sarcastic "sheesh, you are dumb. Can't you read? of course it can/can't" replies are allowed.

Marc

Mark Lanctot
2008-05-15, 11:46
I am sure I am just being dumb here, but nowhere above can I find explicitly stated, that the Controller works with SB3's. I have three SB3's connected to a wireless network around my apartment and the controller would simplify my life a lot.

To be clear, my question is, will the controller work with my existing configuration, without the Receiver?

Sarcastic "sheesh, you are dumb. Can't you read? of course it can/can't" replies are allowed.

The Controller talks to SqueezeCenter, so anything that connects to SqueezeCenter (and that's everything Slim Devices/Logitech has ever made) can be controlled by the SBC.

morris_minor
2008-05-15, 12:29
The Controller talks to SqueezeCenter, so anything that connects to SqueezeCenter (and that's everything Slim Devices/Logitech has ever made) can be controlled by the SBC.

On the controller you'll find a menu item "choose player". Here you can switch between your SB/TP devices . . .

nieldm
2008-05-15, 13:15
Thanks for the prompt replies....order submitted.

Club1820
2008-05-16, 19:28
$400 for that product seems wrong to this long time electronics consumer. At a minimum - I thought that SlimDevices/Logitec should have offered their loyal existing technology holders a $50 to $100 credit on the purchase of a Duet.

Dennis
I have to somewhat agree. Not so much on the price of the pkg (receiver & controller), I think its head on. But agree with a previous customer credit/rebate of $50/$100. Really, I don't need another receiver. Would like to have the controller though. But $299 for the controller, for me at least, is a bit much and I cant justify that price/purchase. $200 would be more like it. With a $50/$100 credit/rebate, this would work for me.

I guess I will have to wait till I get a bigger house. Or my daughter gets out of my bedroom and into her own room so that I would have a need for the Duet Pkg. Until then, I envy everyone out there with the controller! :(

gharris999
2008-05-20, 20:48
No timeline on those yet, but we do intend to add them for sale.

Mike
Separate cradles for SBC: soon, soon, soon, please, please, please!

Kuben72
2008-05-21, 13:14
I would just like to know when us european (Denmark) can get our hands on some SBR?

Sike
2008-06-18, 02:23
More than a month later, still no sign of them in Europe...

Kuben72
2008-06-18, 13:13
They must have been lost in the mail :)
Seriously if they don't show up soon I will have my cousin in USA buy me some and mail them to me - if he can get them ??

Edit: Does anyone know if Logitech can deliver in the states?

mparry
2008-06-18, 15:32
Kuben72 you can definitely have your cousin place an order and then send it to you. We are currently shipping orders placed at www.slimdevices.com the same day they are placed.
The only catch is you would need to buy the appropriate power adapters as we do not stock 220 v power supplies for Europe.

Kuben72
2008-06-19, 05:48
If you can ship them that fast how come that we here in Europe can't get our hands on either the controller or the receiver ? It seems that you have enough to spare :)

And where can I buy some power adapters that fit? The ones that came with the Duet had multiple clipons for the plugs to the wall plugins.

Sike
2008-06-19, 08:30
we do not stock 220 v power supplies for Europe.

I'm pretty sure that they are dual-voltage.

mparry
2008-06-19, 10:10
I'm pretty sure that they are dual-voltage.

Correct , what I should have said is that we do not provide European plugs as we no longer ship there.

Kuben72
2008-06-21, 03:17
Well it doesn't really change the problem. Instead of powersupplies I need powerplugs for europe. Any idea where to get those?

funkstar
2008-06-21, 03:25
Well it doesn't really change the problem. Instead of powersupplies I need powerplugs for europe. Any idea where to get those?
I've heard they are the same as the ones used on Blackberry phone chargers. If you can get somewhere local to try it out, it's worth a shot.

Kuben72
2008-06-22, 14:13
Or more simply: A travel adapter from us -> dk. I think that is easier to get my hands on.