PDA

View Full Version : Lower memory usage slimserver?



badbob
2008-05-05, 08:08
Going to install Slimserver on machine but it only has 512MB of RAM, so the 130MB of memory used by SS is going to eat up a fair amount of RAM. Is there a "lite" version or anyway to reduce the memory usage for Slimserver/slimtray?

andyg
2008-05-05, 08:15
About the only way to reduce memory usage is to disable plugins you don't need.

mherger
2008-05-05, 08:23
> Is there a "lite" version or anyway to reduce the memory usage for
> Slimserver/slimtray?

The topic has come up several times before - but despite various efforts, there's no such thing as a lite version.

You don't need SlimTray, though. Just remove it form the startup group to save a few MBs. You can still launch it manually and close again when needed.

--

Michael

badbob
2008-05-05, 08:58
About the only way to reduce memory usage is to disable plugins you don't need.

Yeah I figured that would reduce memory usage.
What exactly does slimtray do?

mherger
2008-05-05, 09:08
> What exactly does slimtray do?

Very little: sitting in the tray and tell you whether SC is running or not. Plus it provides a link to http://localhost:9000... For those who are running SC as an app instead of a service, it allows starting/stopping the app. Nothing vital.

--

Michael

Kim.T
2008-05-05, 09:09
I'm running SC 7.0.1 on a Thin Client with 512Mb (I could see the diff when upgrading from 256Mb). I don't have any problems with memory - plenty unused. My library is 400 Albums/5200 tracks

Pale Blue Ego
2008-05-05, 10:45
I guess you could always install an earlier version - 5.4.1 was a good, stable version if you can do without stuff like Duet support and album art.

rbz5416
2008-05-05, 14:03
I run 6.5.4 on a PIII with 256MB RAM without issue. I have also run 7.1 but reverted due to issues a bug in SoftSqueeze