PDA

View Full Version : FW: Squeezebox - Problem: Network appears disconnected



Simon Turner
2004-02-29, 11:34
Yehaaaah!
Don't tell Deam & Sean but I opened up the Squeezebox and found out that you
were dead right, the wireless card (which looks remarkably like a PMCIA
card) had started to come loose. It hadn't crossed my mind that the
detection of the card could determine the menu options on start up, but it
obviously does.

Thanks Felix.

Simon Turner
Brighton UK


> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of Felix Mueller
> Sent: 29 February 2004 13:11
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: FW: [slim] Squeezebox - Problem: Network appears
> disconnected
>
>
> Hi Simon
>
> Sorry to hear it still doesn't work for you.
>
> Two more things that might help you.
>
> You're saying that the wireless menu is not
> an option in the setup of your Squeezebox
> (anymore).
>
> >From what I know, the wireless menu only appears
> if the wireless card inside is present. To me
> this stongly looks as if your wireless card got
> loose somehow. At least that would be an
> explanation why the menu isn't showing.
>
> BTW: In the setup the selection of 'ethernet'
> or 'wireless' network is before setting the
> IP address (i.e. DHCP).
>
> As for the warranty you need to ask Sean or
> Dean about. I think they're not that strict
> about opening the case, but you better make sure.
>
> The other thing I just thought about is the
> possiblity in SlimServer to block access from
> certain IP addresses. As far as I know that
> also affects connected Squeezeboxes. So if
> you're using that you need to add the IP
> address of your Squeezebox to the list. Or
> turn that feature off for the moment.
>
> The setting is in 'Server Settings' - 'Additional
> Server Settings' - 'Security'
>
> Aside from that I'd say: Enjoy the sunny day. ;)
>
> Felix
>
> --- Simon Turner <simon (AT) brighton (DOT) co.uk> wrote:
> > Cheers for this Felix.
> > My wireless network has not been re-configured in
> > any way ever since i set
> > it up and the Squeezebox has been running happily.
> > However, I did just try
> > taking off authentication but that made no
> > difference. I do not authenticate
> > Mac addresses anyway.
> > It appears that the Squeezebox just cannot see the
> > network. I'm beginning to
> > think that the arial may have become disconnected
> > perhaps. Maybe I shoud
> > take it apart, but I imagine this may invalidate the
> > warranty.
> >
> > As it is at the moment the Squeezebox can't receive
> > an IP address from my
> > DHCP server so I never get to the screens that ask
> > me to choose my wireless
> > network and enter (or confirm) my encryption key.
> > I've tried static IP
> > address and wired network but still the Squeezebox
> > can't seem to connect to
> > the Slimserver (although it is not 100% certain I
> > set it up correctly or
> > that the cable works.. perhaps 95% maybe).
> >
> > Thanks anyway. It's a lovely sunny day here (rare).
> > I'm going out. Bugger
> > technology. Give me a good looking tree any day.
> >
> > :-(
> >
> > Simon Turner
> > Brighton UK
> >
> >
> > > -----Original Message-----
> > > From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> > > [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On
> > Behalf Of Felix Mueller
> > > Sent: 29 February 2004 11:20
> > > To: Slim Devices Discussion
> > > Subject: FW: [slim] Squeezebox - Problem:
> > Network appears
> > > disconnected
> > >
> > >
> > > Hi Simon
> > >
> > > I take from your description that Squeezebox found
> > > your AP, but is unable to get an IP address via
> > > DHCP. Some points to check:
> > >
> > > Are you using WEP encryption?
> > > Have you doublechecked the WEP keys?
> > > Have you tried without WEP encryption?
> > > Does Squeezebox get an IP address in wired mode?
> > > Have you tried with a static IP address?
> > >
> > > You should also make sure you are running your
> > > AP in 'Shared key' mode. The parameter is in the
> > > wireless settings and is named 'Authentication
> > type'
> > > in my Netgear 624.
> > >
> > > Squeezebox (and other devices) cannot transmit
> > > data or get an IP in 'Open System' mode.
> > >
> > > Last thing. Did you turn on MAC access list?
> > Meaning
> > > that only devices in that list can connect and
> > > use you AP? If yes, you need to add Squeezebox to
> > > that list, or turn off that feature first.
> > >
> > > Some info about the 'Authentication type' that I
> > > found in the manual of my Netgear 624.
> > >
> > > Assuming WEP is turned on.
> > >
> > > 'Open system': The authentication process is NOT
> > > encrypted, only data transmission. That means,
> > > every wireless device can connect to an AP in that
> > > mode (even without a WEB key set). But such a
> > > device would only 'see' the unencrypted packets.
> > >
> > > 'Shared key': The authentication process AND the
> > > data transmission is encrypted. So only devices
> > > with a valid WEB key are able to connect, transmit
> > > and receive data.
> > >
> > > That's what I understood form the manual and it
> > > also fits with my experience.
> > >
> > > Please correct me if you think I got it wrong.
> > >
> > > Hope that helps
> > > Felix
> > >
> > >
> > > --- Simon Turner <simon (AT) brighton (DOT) co.uk> wrote:
> > > > I should have added that I have also unscrewed
> > the
> > > > arial, played about with
> > > > it, screwed it back, unscrewed it again, licked
> > it
> > > > (cos it likes that), put
> > > > it back etc etc.
> > > > .....maybe i won't dump the CDX just yet.
> > > > Simon
> > > >
> > > > My Squeezebox does not appear to be able to
> > connect
> > > > to my wireless network.
> > > > As it attempts to get an IP address via the DHCP
> > > > server it displays Problem:
> > > > Network appears disconnected. Please check your
> > > > Ethernet connection. I have
> > > > checked my wireless network and all is fine
> > (i.e. my
> > > > other devices connect
> > > > to to with no problem). I've power cycled the
> > > > Squeezebox and placed it
> > > > within two foot of my WNAP. I've even rebooted
> > the
> > > > PC hosting Slimserver,
> > > > all to no avail.
> > > > I did wonder if the Squeezebox may think I am
> > now on
> > > > a wired network, but my
> > > > access to the Squeezebox menu appears to be
> > severely
> > > > limited so I can't
> > > > check.
> > > > Help!
> > > >
> > > > The following points may be relevant:
> > > > * I updated to Slimserver latest nightly build
> > some
> > > > time earlier today and
> > > > updated the Firmware (now registers as version
> > 8).
> > > > It has worked correctly
> > > > with this firmware most of the day.
> > > > * I cannot currently power down the Squeezebox
> > using
> > > > the remote's power
> > > > button. I have to switch it off at the mains to
> > > > reboot it.
> > > > * Initially I was going to update the firmware
> > today
> > > > because I was
> > > > experiencing drop outs when playing Flacs (as my
> > > > buffer kept emptying).
> > > > However, I was forced to update immediately when
> > the
> > > > Squeezebox refused to
> > > > output any sound whatsoever.
> > > >
> > > > Two other very quick points.
> > > > How can I tell how full my buffer is (currently
> > I
> > > > can sometimes see a
> > > > progress bar on the track listing screen as I've
> > set
> > > > this up in the server
> > > > advanced settings, but the progress bar is not
> > > > always visible)?
> > > > How can I do a quick check on what my wireless
> > > > network strength is? I'm sure
> > > > I can access a menu item that displays this
> > > > information but I just can't
> > > > seem to find it.
> > > >
> > > > Thanks for any help,
> > > >
> > > > Simon Turner
> > > > Brighton UK
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >

seanadams
2004-03-01, 09:10
We're aware of this feature. :)
The wired and wireless models are exactly identical except for the
802.11 hardware - same firmware even. So if the card is not detected
(i.e. fails POST) then it just behaves like the non-wireless model.



On Feb 29, 2004, at 10:34 AM, Simon Turner wrote:

> Yehaaaah!
> Don't tell Deam & Sean but I opened up the Squeezebox and found out
> that you
> were dead right, the wireless card (which looks remarkably like a PMCIA
> card) had started to come loose. It hadn't crossed my mind that the
> detection of the card could determine the menu options on start up,
> but it
> obviously does.
>
> Thanks Felix.
>
> Simon Turner
> Brighton UK
>
>
>> -----Original Message-----
>> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of Felix
>> Mueller
>> Sent: 29 February 2004 13:11
>> To: Slim Devices Discussion
>> Subject: FW: [slim] Squeezebox - Problem: Network appears
>> disconnected
>>
>>
>> Hi Simon
>>
>> Sorry to hear it still doesn't work for you.
>>
>> Two more things that might help you.
>>
>> You're saying that the wireless menu is not
>> an option in the setup of your Squeezebox
>> (anymore).
>>
>>> From what I know, the wireless menu only appears
>> if the wireless card inside is present. To me
>> this stongly looks as if your wireless card got
>> loose somehow. At least that would be an
>> explanation why the menu isn't showing.
>>
>> BTW: In the setup the selection of 'ethernet'
>> or 'wireless' network is before setting the
>> IP address (i.e. DHCP).
>>
>> As for the warranty you need to ask Sean or
>> Dean about. I think they're not that strict
>> about opening the case, but you better make sure.
>>
>> The other thing I just thought about is the
>> possiblity in SlimServer to block access from
>> certain IP addresses. As far as I know that
>> also affects connected Squeezeboxes. So if
>> you're using that you need to add the IP
>> address of your Squeezebox to the list. Or
>> turn that feature off for the moment.
>>
>> The setting is in 'Server Settings' - 'Additional
>> Server Settings' - 'Security'
>>
>> Aside from that I'd say: Enjoy the sunny day. ;)
>>
>> Felix
>>
>> --- Simon Turner <simon (AT) brighton (DOT) co.uk> wrote:
>>> Cheers for this Felix.
>>> My wireless network has not been re-configured in
>>> any way ever since i set
>>> it up and the Squeezebox has been running happily.
>>> However, I did just try
>>> taking off authentication but that made no
>>> difference. I do not authenticate
>>> Mac addresses anyway.
>>> It appears that the Squeezebox just cannot see the
>>> network. I'm beginning to
>>> think that the arial may have become disconnected
>>> perhaps. Maybe I shoud
>>> take it apart, but I imagine this may invalidate the
>>> warranty.
>>>
>>> As it is at the moment the Squeezebox can't receive
>>> an IP address from my
>>> DHCP server so I never get to the screens that ask
>>> me to choose my wireless
>>> network and enter (or confirm) my encryption key.
>>> I've tried static IP
>>> address and wired network but still the Squeezebox
>>> can't seem to connect to
>>> the Slimserver (although it is not 100% certain I
>>> set it up correctly or
>>> that the cable works.. perhaps 95% maybe).
>>>
>>> Thanks anyway. It's a lovely sunny day here (rare).
>>> I'm going out. Bugger
>>> technology. Give me a good looking tree any day.
>>>
>>> :-(
>>>
>>> Simon Turner
>>> Brighton UK
>>>
>>>
>>>> -----Original Message-----
>>>> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>>>> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On
>>> Behalf Of Felix Mueller
>>>> Sent: 29 February 2004 11:20
>>>> To: Slim Devices Discussion
>>>> Subject: FW: [slim] Squeezebox - Problem:
>>> Network appears
>>>> disconnected
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> Hi Simon
>>>>
>>>> I take from your description that Squeezebox found
>>>> your AP, but is unable to get an IP address via
>>>> DHCP. Some points to check:
>>>>
>>>> Are you using WEP encryption?
>>>> Have you doublechecked the WEP keys?
>>>> Have you tried without WEP encryption?
>>>> Does Squeezebox get an IP address in wired mode?
>>>> Have you tried with a static IP address?
>>>>
>>>> You should also make sure you are running your
>>>> AP in 'Shared key' mode. The parameter is in the
>>>> wireless settings and is named 'Authentication
>>> type'
>>>> in my Netgear 624.
>>>>
>>>> Squeezebox (and other devices) cannot transmit
>>>> data or get an IP in 'Open System' mode.
>>>>
>>>> Last thing. Did you turn on MAC access list?
>>> Meaning
>>>> that only devices in that list can connect and
>>>> use you AP? If yes, you need to add Squeezebox to
>>>> that list, or turn off that feature first.
>>>>
>>>> Some info about the 'Authentication type' that I
>>>> found in the manual of my Netgear 624.
>>>>
>>>> Assuming WEP is turned on.
>>>>
>>>> 'Open system': The authentication process is NOT
>>>> encrypted, only data transmission. That means,
>>>> every wireless device can connect to an AP in that
>>>> mode (even without a WEB key set). But such a
>>>> device would only 'see' the unencrypted packets.
>>>>
>>>> 'Shared key': The authentication process AND the
>>>> data transmission is encrypted. So only devices
>>>> with a valid WEB key are able to connect, transmit
>>>> and receive data.
>>>>
>>>> That's what I understood form the manual and it
>>>> also fits with my experience.
>>>>
>>>> Please correct me if you think I got it wrong.
>>>>
>>>> Hope that helps
>>>> Felix
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> --- Simon Turner <simon (AT) brighton (DOT) co.uk> wrote:
>>>>> I should have added that I have also unscrewed
>>> the
>>>>> arial, played about with
>>>>> it, screwed it back, unscrewed it again, licked
>>> it
>>>>> (cos it likes that), put
>>>>> it back etc etc.
>>>>> .....maybe i won't dump the CDX just yet.
>>>>> Simon
>>>>>
>>>>> My Squeezebox does not appear to be able to
>>> connect
>>>>> to my wireless network.
>>>>> As it attempts to get an IP address via the DHCP
>>>>> server it displays Problem:
>>>>> Network appears disconnected. Please check your
>>>>> Ethernet connection. I have
>>>>> checked my wireless network and all is fine
>>> (i.e. my
>>>>> other devices connect
>>>>> to to with no problem). I've power cycled the
>>>>> Squeezebox and placed it
>>>>> within two foot of my WNAP. I've even rebooted
>>> the
>>>>> PC hosting Slimserver,
>>>>> all to no avail.
>>>>> I did wonder if the Squeezebox may think I am
>>> now on
>>>>> a wired network, but my
>>>>> access to the Squeezebox menu appears to be
>>> severely
>>>>> limited so I can't
>>>>> check.
>>>>> Help!
>>>>>
>>>>> The following points may be relevant:
>>>>> * I updated to Slimserver latest nightly build
>>> some
>>>>> time earlier today and
>>>>> updated the Firmware (now registers as version
>>> 8).
>>>>> It has worked correctly
>>>>> with this firmware most of the day.
>>>>> * I cannot currently power down the Squeezebox
>>> using
>>>>> the remote's power
>>>>> button. I have to switch it off at the mains to
>>>>> reboot it.
>>>>> * Initially I was going to update the firmware
>>> today
>>>>> because I was
>>>>> experiencing drop outs when playing Flacs (as my
>>>>> buffer kept emptying).
>>>>> However, I was forced to update immediately when
>>> the
>>>>> Squeezebox refused to
>>>>> output any sound whatsoever.
>>>>>
>>>>> Two other very quick points.
>>>>> How can I tell how full my buffer is (currently
>>> I
>>>>> can sometimes see a
>>>>> progress bar on the track listing screen as I've
>>> set
>>>>> this up in the server
>>>>> advanced settings, but the progress bar is not
>>>>> always visible)?
>>>>> How can I do a quick check on what my wireless
>>>>> network strength is? I'm sure
>>>>> I can access a menu item that displays this
>>>>> information but I just can't
>>>>> seem to find it.
>>>>>
>>>>> Thanks for any help,
>>>>>
>>>>> Simon Turner
>>>>> Brighton UK
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>