PDA

View Full Version : Repost - Power Supply



audio53
2008-04-29, 17:47
Hmmm...seems the post I made yesterday disappeared. Anyway, here goes again-

Has anybody bought the Channel Islands Audio VDC-SB power supply for the SB3? I would be interested in your experience/comments. Also, are there other alternatives like this out there?

http://www.ciaudio.com/

Thanks,
Bob

iPhone
2008-04-29, 18:59
Hmmm...seems the post I made yesterday disappeared. Anyway, here goes again-

Has anybody bought the Channel Islands Audio VDC-SB power supply for the SB3? I would be interested in your experience/comments. Also, are there other alternatives like this out there?

http://www.ciaudio.com/

Thanks,
Bob

Just my opinion, but it is a good supply that is well thought out. Now having said that, the SB3 still has a switcher inside the case so in the end, why bother?

Do I think there is a benefit from the extra available current over the OEM supply, personally I do. I had a regulated HP supply on my SB3 for over a week and had it set to save the peak amp draw. My SB3 will use more then 2 amps if it is available, YMMV. So yes I like the CI VDC-SB for the current overhead, but there is still that internal switcher. If it were me, I would just get a $30 supply that has 3 to 5 amps output.

Mnyb
2008-04-29, 21:59
I have the CIA supply. it's a quality piece and the company is nice and deliver's their stuff.
Good guys.

I would not say that anything has gotten substantially better as i use the digital out.

But the old European supply was a nasty plastic thing that emitted a burning smell ?
Did I say plastic as in probably unshielded and the wallwart was laying close to my cabling.

So i bought it to limit possible interference sources in my systems at least 3 other components has switchmode supplies, buts thats inside metalcases with grounding.
I don't think switchers are bad in general.
It was just that the old SB3 wallwart was not oozzing quality :-)
I just thougth it would do some indirect harm to system not change the audio quality of my SB3's digital out, that would be almost impossible.

whatever you do never ever "buy" the Wellborne Labs supply. that company has gone bad.
You can give him money but he will never deliver and you will not be able to contact them again


btw should not this tread be moved to diy third party or audiphile ?