PDA

View Full Version : Impossible to wake up SB3 if last connected to no longer running SlimServer



DanielFriedmann
2008-04-28, 06:58
Hi all,

I'm having problems waking up my SB3 with the Duet Controller if the SB3 was last connected to the SlimServer on my laptop which is switched off at that moment. This usually happens in the morning when I want to listen to some webradio and I last listeded to my local music library the evening before.

I'm always using the latest Duet beta version but can't remember if it was working with any prior/official version.

My workaround is to use the old white SB3 remote and switch it on. Afterwards the Duet Controller can see my SB3 and use it.

Please point me to what I'm doing wrong or if that's a software issue which is hopefully being fixed very soon. Thanks.

radish
2008-04-28, 07:05
This isn't something which can be fixed. The SBC communicates with the SB3 via the server, so if the server doesn't exist, it can't communicate with it.

bpa
2008-04-28, 07:08
Use the SBC as an SB3 IR remote control from the IR menu under Settings/Advanced/Facory Test/Infrared

DanielFriedmann
2008-04-28, 07:37
Thanks for your answers. I'm going to check the IR feature tonight.

I understand your explanation but I don't like that depending on where the SB3 was last connected to, I won't be able to use the Controller with its default setting to wake up the SB3.

What about the Receiver? Will I be able to wake it up if the Server is down? AFAIK it doesn't have IR, so that would be even worse...

Mnyb
2008-04-28, 08:27
If you kill the server while all players are connected to it, you get this :-)

I think there are ways out of this if Logitech would want it to.

from the root ? meny, null meny ? what would you call it ?
You can go two ways players or settings.
If your unlucky there are no players.
If you go settings/choose music source/ <your SC server > it should WOL the server, but it does not.

i tried to reopen the WOL bug to discuss this http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=5378

If you go settings/choose music source/SqueezeNetwork. SN should be able to reestablish contact with your players, they are after all registered an known by SN, who is a server and should be capable of this.

There is a third option, but that would break the concept a little.
You do as I suppose above AND nudge the players to SC or SN from the Controller itself ! it is a small computer and is probably able to speak some "slimproto" commands ?

After all all the stuff is at your network with known addresses and/or known MAC.

I think the Duet is lovely, but you have to remember to switch the players over to SN before stopping your server.
You also have to manually start your server from here.

Well it's the choosen functionality this is never a problem if you server is on 24/7

I would like improvement here, but i understand if theres more important areas that needs attention first, but eventually i think Logitech has to fix this I have no problems with it, a small annoyance. But some people migth find this a deal breaker.

/Mikael

Mnyb
2008-04-28, 09:05
Who hoo the factory test/ir thingy got my old SB3 to wol the server.

fantastic, then you have more options with an SB v1,2,3 /classic.
Now i can use the ServerPower control plug in and all the other old stuff.

Why hide this ir thing so deep down in the menus ? its a usefull feature.

edit: I should try to see if i can establish SN functionality this way..

radish
2008-04-28, 10:10
If you go settings/choose music source/ <your SC server > it should WOL the server, but it does not.

Makes sense to me.



If you go settings/choose music source/SqueezeNetwork. SN should be able to reestablish contact with your players, they are after all registered an known by SN, who is a server and should be capable of this.

Most people's routers would prevent this from working. SN typically would have the same IP (your single public IP) for each of your players and has no way to directly contact them.



There is a third option, but that would break the concept a little.
You do as I suppose above AND nudge the players to SC or SN from the Controller itself ! it is a small computer and is probably able to speak some "slimproto" commands ?

After all all the stuff is at your network with known addresses and/or known MAC.

But known to the server, not the controller.

Mnyb
2008-04-28, 20:10
Makes sense to me.


Most people's routers would prevent this from working. SN typically would have the same IP (your single public IP) for each of your players and has no way to directly contact them.


But known to the server, not the controller.

Well it was a suggestion, the Controller does not have this info/functionality as it is now, but that could change.
My idea with that was that this could workaround the router trouble you described or other problems I don't even know of, as 1 i don't know that much of SB,SC,SN ecosystem 2 I'm no programmer.
Maybe the single IP problem could be worked around be letting the players act at different predefined ports ws the SN.
To use the controller this way might help out in other ways, Maybe the player firmware could be changed to fix all this issues, but will the oldest players have resources for every change you come up with ?

MadScientist
2008-04-29, 00:01
If your unlucky there are no players.
If you go settings/choose music source/ <your SC server > it should WOL the server, but it does not.

/Mikael

That's something I'd like to see fixed urgently. I'm amazed it wasn't built into the Controller's functionality from day 1.

MS