Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • gutted
    • Apr 2005

Linux help... using rsync

So - this isn't SB related, but wondering if anyone can give me some advice on how to efficiently backup my music drive?

My music is on a Windows (2k) file server, but I recently bought a cheap NAS with a Linux OS. I'd like to use rsync to check for changes on the Windows file system, and then make any changes as required on the NAS. (Until now I've been using MS Synctoy, but Synctoy doesn't delete folders that have moved or been renamed - and you end up with loads of empty folders in the backup destination).

Anyway - rsync looks good, but I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to Linux. I guess that the Linux OS can't read the Windows filesystem at the moment, and I'm expecting to have to mount the music drive within Linux.

I've done some googling, but now yet found anything all that helpful. Can anyone give me a couple of pointers (e.g. a link to a tutorial, or even just general info)?

Cheers in advance! (and sorry for asking such a blatantly non-SB question
    http://www.last.fm/user/gutt3d/

Squeeze Centre v7.5.3 +Multi Library +Custom Browse +MusicIP
    Windows 2003 SP2
    Intel Pentium 1.5GHz
    1.5GB RAM
    Squeezebox 3 wireless (Player Firmware Version: 132)
    Library of approx 13500 tracks (~95% FLAC)
  • nolan
    • Sep 2006

I've done something similar in the past to back up the Music directory on my Linux based server (which I use to run SqueezeCenter) to the external USB drive connected to my Windows desktop.

1. Share the folder from your Windows machine.
    2. Mount this to your Linux box

mount.cifs //192.168.0.10/Slimserver /homerdrive/Slimserver -o user=nolan

3. Perform the rsync. The --delete flag also replicates deletions from the source.

rsync -ar /home2/Slimserver/* /homerdrive/Slimserver --modify-window=10 --delete --progress