PDA

View Full Version : UK Power Supply Spares



DaveWr
2008-04-17, 02:09
Has anyone had any success in obtaining a UK replacement power supply for a squeezebox 3. Logitech European Support claim that it is not available as a spare. Seems to go against European consumer legislation. Their recommendation is use a European version and obtain a plug adapter?
Very strange.

I wish we still could order European parts from the Slim Devices website.

David Wright

Squeezebox 3 > Lavry DA10 > Cyrus 8 VS2 > Troels Gravesen Acapella SE

mr-b
2008-04-18, 02:02
There have been lots of posts about suitable replacement SB3 PSUs (and which better the supplied one). Try searching the forums.

I went for the one from Farnell - it's certainly a lot heftier than the Logitech one:
http://cpc.farnell.com/jsp/Batteries+&+Power+Supplies/AC+to+DC/UNBRANDED/AD-05150R/displayProduct.jsp?sku=PW00187

morris_minor
2008-04-18, 07:17
There have been lots of posts about suitable replacement SB3 PSUs (and which better the supplied one). Try searching the forums.

I went for the one from Farnell - it's certainly a lot heftier than the Logitech one:
http://cpc.farnell.com/jsp/Batteries+&+Power+Supplies/AC+to+DC/UNBRANDED/AD-05150R/displayProduct.jsp?sku=PW00187

FWIW I've had two of these power supplies from CPC - one was duff from the word go, the other lasted about two months. I'm now back on the supplied ps. But hopefully my experience isn't typical . . .

DaveWr
2008-04-19, 15:48
FWIW I've had two of these power supplies from CPC - one was duff from the word go, the other lasted about two months. I'm now back on the supplied ps. But hopefully my experience isn't typical . . .

Thanks for the input - I'll see what CPC & RS have.

David

iPhone
2008-04-19, 16:28
There have been lots of posts about suitable replacement SB3 PSUs (and which better the supplied one). Try searching the forums.

I went for the one from Farnell - it's certainly a lot heftier than the Logitech one:
http://cpc.farnell.com/jsp/Batteries+&+Power+Supplies/AC+to+DC/UNBRANDED/AD-05150R/displayProduct.jsp?sku=PW00187

I do not see how that hunk of junk is heftier then the OEM PS. It does not even meet the current output spec of the OEM unit. I personally recommend a PS with a three amp output or a two amp minimum. Yes 1.5 amps will work, but you are a half amp below the minimum spec of the OEM PS. Two and Three amp PS can be bought for just a few Pounds more then a cheap Chinesse universal 1.5 amp power supply.

Then there is always the upgrade to an Elpac or Channel Island power supply. The link below shows a 5VDC 3 amp PS that will operate off of 90 to 264 VAC:
http://www.trcelectronics.com/Phihong/psa-18u-050.shtml

Ramage
2008-04-20, 00:49
Have a look here:
http://www.watt-power.co.uk/catalogue/power-products-c-149.html

I haven't used them myself but it looks like they have a comprehensive range of PSUs at reasonable prices.

mr-b
2008-04-21, 11:38
The CPC Stontronics PSU is "heftier" in that it is bulkier and heavier than the SB3 PSU.

Re: the rating, the Slimdevices site says that the SB3 needs just 1A:
http://www.slimdevices.com/pi_squeezebox.html#power

I know current delivery headroom is good for amps but is it that necessary on digital/line-level kit?

Either way, to me it sounded like an improvement on the original PSU and has been working fine for a few months.

DaveWr
2008-04-29, 11:23
The CPC Stontronics PSU is "heftier" in that it is bulkier and heavier than the SB3 PSU.

Re: the rating, the Slimdevices site says that the SB3 needs just 1A:
http://www.slimdevices.com/pi_squeezebox.html#power

I know current delivery headroom is good for amps but is it that necessary on digital/line-level kit?

Either way, to me it sounded like an improvement on the original PSU and has been working fine for a few months.

I bought the Stontronics unit. I agree it is at least comparable if not better. Also told the European helpdesk that they are not exactly following UK Sale of Goods act. EU power supplies with adaptors don't meet UK wiring requirements. Fused plugs and all that. But I am working again.

Thanks for everybodies help - except Slim Devices / Logitech !

David

SB3 > Lavry DA10 > Cyrus 8VS > Acapella SE (troels Gravesen Dipole)
SB3 > Leak Stereo 20 (old old valve amplifier) > Mission 781

Alchemy
2008-05-27, 06:04
FWIW I've had two of these power supplies from CPC - one was duff from the word go, the other lasted about two months. I'm now back on the supplied ps. But hopefully my experience isn't typical . . .

Agree with that -- the one I have is the most unreliable piece of equipment I've ever seen.