PDA

View Full Version : Duet not working well at all? Is it possible this product doesnt work?



jdsantaclarita
2008-04-14, 20:02
Sorry if this is covered in other threads, but I am new to the product and lingo, so I am not sure I know what is fully going on. I have the Duet and was able to convince my wife we needed it to get rhapsody working on our big stereo. Score! ....well until it plays like half a song then goes radio silent for no reason. Then I can usually get it kick started again by pressing the skip forward button on the remote...wait a little bit and then it will start playing for a random amount of time (2-3 songs maybe). Then it will just go dead again or it will totally bork itself and i have to reboot it all. My wife has given up on it and I am close behind. I really really want this thing to work as I really would like to have online music integrated into my HT...but this would be a joke to use if we had a social gathering...it would be like playing my cd changer with a scoop of sand thrown into it. People dont dig on "skip, skip...dead air...hold on, let me reboot my radio, etc". I have upgraded from 2097 to r2223 and ver 23...still the same. I moved my wifi router downstairs to be closer to the unit...no help. I get above 50 signal at all times.

Any idea of what this could be? I dont think it is my network. I have many of devices that all work..i am a network engineer, so i am no stranger to networking. I dont think it is internet as I can use rhapsody/pandora just fine on my wireless laptop..its just the duet that cant do it.

I am in desperate mode to get some answers as I have to return it to get my $$ back and there is no way my family will tolerate this thing if we are talking longer term core bug fixes. Any help would be really great.

Thanks,
JD

Matt Wise
2008-04-14, 20:37
Sorry if this is covered in other threads, but I am new to the product and lingo, so I am not sure I know what is fully going on. I have the Duet and was able to convince my wife we needed it to get rhapsody working on our big stereo. Score! ....well until it plays like half a song then goes radio silent for no reason. Then I can usually get it kick started again by pressing the skip forward button on the remote...wait a little bit and then it will start playing for a random amount of time (2-3 songs maybe). Then it will just go dead again or it will totally bork itself and i have to reboot it all. My wife has given up on it and I am close behind. I really really want this thing to work as I really would like to have online music integrated into my HT...but this would be a joke to use if we had a social gathering...it would be like playing my cd changer with a scoop of sand thrown into it. People dont dig on "skip, skip...dead air...hold on, let me reboot my radio, etc". I have upgraded from 2097 to r2223 and ver 23...still the same. I moved my wifi router downstairs to be closer to the unit...no help. I get above 50 signal at all times.

Any idea of what this could be? I dont think it is my network. I have many of devices that all work..i am a network engineer, so i am no stranger to networking. I dont think it is internet as I can use rhapsody/pandora just fine on my wireless laptop..its just the duet that cant do it.

I am in desperate mode to get some answers as I have to return it to get my $$ back and there is no way my family will tolerate this thing if we are talking longer term core bug fixes. Any help would be really great.

Thanks,
JD

JD,
It sure sounds like an Internet-related issue ... but I strongly recommend contacting our Customer Support team. They're extremely good at what they do and I'm sure they can help. Though some people here may have some good advice, the best thing you can do is go through our official channels...

--Matt Wise

damager
2008-04-14, 20:38
Not sure exactly what you are experiencing (could be a defective unit?), but I can assure you that the product works well. In fact, I'va played Rhapsody and Pandora for hours at a time many times, and have never experienced any of the issues you are pointing out here - I assume others will jump in here with better ideas for things to try, but there is something odd going on with either your unit or your setup.

jdsantaclarita
2008-04-14, 22:02
Thanks for the reply. Just to be sure, I just listened to pandora on my laptop for a good solid hour or so without a single hitch. I then tried it on the duet and within a few songs it lost connection twice. I started some constant pings to the controller and to the receiver to see what happens. The first was a short loss of sound for 5 sec or so. It missed a few pings, the light went BLUE, then back to white then a blip of a few seconds of no sound. Then back to normal. A few minutes later it stopped all pings, blipped red, went through a few colors (green, blue, white) This time it stopped the music for good. I had to reconnect it.

I work 1.5hrs from home, so I am not home during tech support hours, so I have to try to figure things out on my own until I can reach them for support.

Both of these issues have happened again since I have started typing this reply.

Any advice?

Thanks,
JD

SuperQ
2008-04-14, 22:08
Sounds a lot like wireless problems. What signal strength do you show on the Receiver?

One thing you should try just for debugging is to plug it into ethernet on your router. That will prove that the box is ok.

jdsantaclarita
2008-04-14, 22:18
I currently have 44 wireless strength. I thought i had 50, but i must be dreaming. So should 44 be unusable? Drop songs about every 10 min or so? I will have to figure out a clever way to connect it via ethernet as there is no dsl line close to my reciever area. hmmm..

Thanks,
JD

JimC
2008-04-14, 22:31
Thanks for the reply. Just to be sure, I just listened to pandora on my laptop for a good solid hour or so without a single hitch. I then tried it on the duet and within a few songs it lost connection twice. I started some constant pings to the controller and to the receiver to see what happens. The first was a short loss of sound for 5 sec or so. It missed a few pings, the light went BLUE, then back to white then a blip of a few seconds of no sound. Then back to normal. A few minutes later it stopped all pings, blipped red, went through a few colors (green, blue, white) This time it stopped the music for good. I had to reconnect it.

I work 1.5hrs from home, so I am not home during tech support hours, so I have to try to figure things out on my own until I can reach them for support.

Both of these issues have happened again since I have started typing this reply.

Any advice?

Thanks,
JD

First, don't rely solely on the readings from a laptop to determine wireless reliability. Second, can you provide some details regarding your wireless router, specifically the manufacturer and model?

We have confirmed some issues with Zyxel routers and we're working to improve compatibility with them. Perhaps you have a similar issue.


-=> Jim

snarlydwarf
2008-04-14, 23:40
I currently have 44 wireless strength. I thought i had 50, but i must be dreaming. So should 44 be unusable? Drop songs about every 10 min or so? I will have to figure out a clever way to connect it via ethernet as there is no dsl line close to my reciever area. hmmm..

Thanks,
JD

44 is a bit low, but it is only one metric.

Think of Signal Strength as Loudness... that isn't the sole measure of audio: there is also Signal Quality, which is hellish since no one computes it the same way.

Ie, you may have a strength of 44, but your neighbor has supercharged his router and whenever he clicks a link on his web browser the channel you are using is congested and your router keeps getting interrupted on packets and his strength is just enough to drown out the reception.

You may want to use NetStumbler or some such to find nearby networks.. and try to move as far away as you can. (Channels actually overlap, so if your neighbor is using channel 6, which is often the default on routers, moving to 4 will be less signal from him, but it will still see some.)

Paul Webster
2008-04-15, 01:39
Does it work with services other than Rhapsody?
e.g. have a dig around SqueezeNetwork and see if things play reliably.
If they don't ... then try playing music from your LAN.
That should help isolate the problem a bit more.

Pale Blue Ego
2008-04-15, 06:40
I would begin troubleshooting by connecting an ethernet cable to the SBR. If that eliminates all dropouts, then the only problem is how to route the cable permanently.

My other thought was your DSL connection. It should have enough bandwidth to carry 128kbps streams, but I know that even my 3MB-5MB broadband cable connection sometimes slows down or even stops for a while.

jdsantaclarita
2008-04-15, 14:41
Thanks. I will have to do a cat5 connected test tonight. I did a test last night where i put the SB receiver right next to the wireless router and it was at 98% signal on the SB. It hiccuped after 20 min.

My wireless device is a 2-wire 2701 wireless router/dsl model (att dsl). I get a solid 1.5mb download speed.

I have not seen ANY of this behavior with any of the online services (rhapsody, pandora, internet radio, etc) when using my laptops. I am not sure why you guys would think it is the internet connection? Is there some kind of lack of buffering or something that is specific to SB and not pc's?

Should I upgrade to newer versions? I really dont know how to do that, so if someone could steer me in the right direction for that it would be helpful too.

Thanks all,
JD

SuperQ
2008-04-15, 16:53
We're mostly just guessing right now. These problems can be hard to track down. It could be the fact that there is a smaller buffer in the Receiver compared to your PC.