PDA

View Full Version : duet force static ip



Millwood
2008-04-14, 12:02
even though my network supports dhcp, i would prefer assigning static ip addresses to the controller and receiver. can this be done? how?

gbrandwood
2008-04-14, 12:08
I assigned mine by noting the mac address of the receiver (on the sticker underneath) and then allocating a fixed IP to that mac address in my router. So, the Duet is still set to DHCP as such, but the DHCP service in my router will always give, and reserve, the IP address I told it to. Then, press the reset button on the front of the receiver, until it flashes red, and follow the config on the remote if necessary to find and configure the receiver.

Millwood
2008-04-14, 12:32
Sadly, my linksys doesn't provide that option. Wish it did, can't image why it doesn't.

Thanks.

pfarrell
2008-04-14, 12:53
Millwood wrote:
> Sadly, my linksys doesn't provide that option. Wish it did, can't image
> why it doesn't.

Well, depending on which Linksys, you might be able to flash upgraded or
open source firmware, such as DD-WRT.

The longer answer is that your network needs a DHCP server. Most folks
just have their WAP/router do it. I don't, I have a linux server that
does DPCH assigments, among other things. With that, its just a matter
of changing the dhcpd.conf to have your way with it.



--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/