PDA

View Full Version : Password protection in SC7 and Controller



Mnyb
2008-04-13, 01:09
I'm aware of the fact that password in SC7 and Controller won't work.
So when will this be fixed and what priority has it.
I'm expecting my duet in about a week or two.

Yes i know that that the password protection in SC7 is not much of security, but its better than nothing.
My real security is that my music server is only that (no sensitive private data lying around), and I have backups .

Interesting facts:
Softsqueeze, winamp & foobar honors the password.
Squeezeslave just cut trough ? is it so good at emulating a hardware player that SC7 won't know the difference ? this is a potential security hole.

rgds
Mikael

pski
2008-04-13, 19:14
I'm aware of the fact that password in SC7 and Controller won't work.
So when will this be fixed and what priority has it.
I'm expecting my duet in about a week or two.

Yes i know that that the password protection in SC7 is not much of security, but its better than nothing.
My real security is that my music server is only that (no sensitive private data lying around), and I have backups .

Interesting facts:
Softsqueeze, winamp & foobar honors the password.
Squeezeslave just cut trough ? is it so good at emulating a hardware player that SC7 won't know the difference ? this is a potential security hole.

rgds
Mikael

I've gone around the user/password issue by using the IP allow feature. The only flaky thing I've found there is that the "full" IP addresses must come first in the list with the "range" IP's following..

Mnyb
2008-04-13, 21:15
IP allow would work on your local net ? (ip allow feature in SC ??)
I'm accessing my server trough the internet, from random places like hotells.