PDA

View Full Version : Network Drives with Slimp3



Tim Marino
2004-02-24, 19:48
I had a similar problem with W2K. My user account has
a password and admin rights and it could not access a
networked drive unless I'm missing a setting. I just
switched the server to run under the user account and
it works fine though I have to admit that it is
essentially the only thing running on that box at this
time.

I haven't had any issues with performance with the
networked drive. The only reason the music is on
another drive is primarily for ripping purposes since
it is a faster machine and has more disk space. I will
probably rearrange all this once I get the server on
unix but this is the way it stands today.

--- "Roy M. Silvernail" <roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com> wrote:
> On Tue, 2004-02-24 at 18:05, kdf wrote:
> > Quoting Scott Coats <scott.coats (AT) mwsc (DOT) com>:
> >
> >
> > > >
> > > Forgive me....But how do I change the service to
> use my login id? I
> > > have tried to do this under the SERVICES
> Properties and the service will
> > > not start. It tells me that it is unalbe to use
> my login id...that it is
> > > invalid. I do not use a password within Windows
> XP.
> > >
> > > -Help again..
> > >
> > You cannot run it as a service if you want to use
> network drives. You have to
> > start SlimSever manually as an application once
> you are started up.
>
> Actually, I think you can. The problem here is that
> there is no
> password on Scott's user account, and services
> cannot run as a user
> unless the account is passworded. (NT had the same
> requirement for
> AutoAdminLogon configurations)
> --
> Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and
> you're not
> Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
> SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss
> http://www.rant-central.com
>
>

Roy M. Silvernail
2004-02-24, 20:10
On Tue, 2004-02-24 at 21:48, Tim Marino wrote:
> I had a similar problem with W2K. My user account has
> a password and admin rights and it could not access a
> networked drive unless I'm missing a setting. I just
> switched the server to run under the user account and
> it works fine though I have to admit that it is
> essentially the only thing running on that box at this
> time.

While we're on the subject, I noticed that at some point in the
automated update series, XP Pro turns on its Internet Firewall and shuts
down all network shares, both inbound and outbound. The only way I was
able to resume sharing was to turn the firewall off. It doesn't seem to
have very fine-grained settings. (the XP box is a testbed machine at
work, not one of the home boxen)
--
Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss
http://www.rant-central.com