PDA

View Full Version : SlimP3 rebooting and changing volume



Stephen Jones
2004-02-22, 09:16
Yes the firmware is now at 2.3, and I initially thought that the problem
had gone away but alas no.

It does seem to be volume related (or at least one part of it is). I'll
try using another PC on the network and see if it's a fault of the Dell.

Steve

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of dean
blackketter
Sent: 22 February 2004 16:08
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] SlimP3 rebooting and changing volume

You can safely ignore that error, it just indicates that you weren't
running the SlimServer service in the background.

Did the firmware download anyway?

On Feb 22, 2004, at 6:27 AM, Stephen Jones wrote:

> Right the firmware has been upgraded to ver 2.3, BUT the same error
> message has been displayed as previous which may be the cause of all
> the
> trouble.
>
> When upgrading the firmware the MAC address is entered, and then an IP
> address, but immediately after the line where it asks to enable kiosk
> mode or not it says -
>
> "System error 1060 has occurred."
>
> It then carries on installing the firmware ok, but then says after
that
> "The service name is invalid."
>
> Any ideas anyone....?
>
> Steve
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Stephen
> Jones
> Sent: 22 February 2004 14:20
> To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
> Subject: [slim] SlimP3 rebooting and changing volume
>
> And yet more..... :-(
>
> When the Slim text is enlarged using the "size" button on the remote,
> it
> seems to always cause the volume to jump up and nearly always the
> player
> to reboot or hang. So seeing as this is not track related, it indicate
> either player or server faults.
>
> Steve
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Stephen
> Jones
> Sent: 22 February 2004 14:10
> To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
> Subject: [slim] SlimP3 rebooting and changing volume
>
> Well it gets worse.
>
> I had only played a couple of MP3's trying to find one that caused
this
> problem and when increasing the Slim's volume to nearly the max the
> audio would be distorted and "blips" introduced. And when I tried to
> reduce the volume using the remote the Slim stops playing and displays
> the Bootloader screen with the MAC address. There doesn't appear to be
> any why to exit this screen without power cycling the Slim.
>
> On the 3rd restart attempt, I reduced the volume using the server and
> it
> started to play, but as soon as I increased the volume one notch using
> the remote the Slim rebooted.
>
> Should I perhaps try reinstalling the Slim firmware?
>
> Steve
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Stephen
> Jones
> Sent: 22 February 2004 13:58
> To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
> Subject: [slim] SlimP3 rebooting and changing volume
>
> Dean
>
> I hadn't taken note of which mp3's were affected, so I'll find one and
> make sure it plays normally on other apps, before sending to yourself.
>
> Thanks
>
> Steve
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: dean blackketter
> Sent: 21 February 2004 20:33
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] SlimP3 rebooting and changing volume
>
> Stephen,
>
> This problem isn't familiar to me.
>
> Can you send me one of the MP3s in question?
>
> -dean
>
> On Feb 21, 2004, at 5:18 AM, Stephen Jones wrote:
>
>> Hi
>
>> I’m new to the list so this perhaps this is a common fault easily
>> fixed…
>>
>> It’s quite a basic setup -- a SlimP3 connected via switch to a fairly
>> old Dell Precision 410 (400mhz) running the latest server software. I
>> recently upgraded the players firmware to ver 2.2. The problem is
that
>
>> when playing quite a number of non specific mp3’s the player will
>> “struggle” to play them. By that I mean the volume jumps up to what
>> seems full volume, the playback jitters and stops, and consequently
>> the player will reboot time after time until this tune is removed
from
>
>> the playlist.
>>
>> Can this be related to resources on the server PC?
>>
>> I’ve never had any problems playing these audio files using
Musicmatch
>
>> or similar.
>>
>> Any help appreciated
>>
>> TIA
>>
>> Steve
>
>
>
>