PDA

View Full Version : SqueezeCenter 7.0 removes "All Songs"?



jdryyz
2008-04-05, 10:45
Since upgrading recently, I no longer have the option of selecting "All Songs" using my remote. When browsing through the web interface, however, I do notice that the option is still available. It is buried in the "Music Folder" section now. This is not very convenient though since I cannot select this option while using the remote in my listening area.

Why was this feature moved to the music folder? Incidentally, what is the purpose of the music folder anyway? Aren't the previous browse options sufficient enough to access all music?

Please return All Songs to its previous location in the Browse Albums section.

Thank you.

jdryyz
2008-04-05, 11:06
Hmmm....found this in the change log:

Player UI:

* Suppress "Play All" at top level browse menus

Could this be why?



Since upgrading recently, I no longer have the option of selecting "All Songs" using my remote. When browsing through the web interface, however, I do notice that the option is still available. It is buried in the "Music Folder" section now. This is not very convenient though since I cannot select this option while using the remote in my listing area.

Why was this feature moved to the music folder? Incidentally, what is the purpose of the music folder anyway? Aren't the previous browse options sufficient enough to access all music?

Please return All Songs to its previous location in the Browse Albums section.

Thank you.

jdryyz
2008-04-06, 15:42
Hmmmm....I'm surprised to see no responses on this. You mean to tell me no one here shuffles "all songs"? To me, that's the most obvious approach to listening to one's music collection. I can no longer do that now. I will check into the possibility of downgrading the firmware.

P.S. Please do not suggest using "Random Mix" as an alternative. Its not the same.

radish
2008-04-06, 16:34
Why was this feature moved to the music folder? Incidentally, what is the purpose of the music folder anyway? Aren't the previous browse options sufficient enough to access all music?

It wasn't moved there, it was removed from everywhere except there. Can't say why. Music folder is there for the (many) people who prefer to browse according to their directory hierarchy.



P.S. Please do not suggest using "Random Mix" as an alternative. Its not the same.
OK, I won't. But why not? It's designed as a better alternative to playing all songs with shuffle on.

jdryyz
2008-04-06, 17:00
Two reasons-- 1) It doesn't put my entire song list in queue and 2) It doesn't randomize very well. I end up getting a lot of repeat artists.

I sure would like to know why the all songs option was removed though. It worked great for me. It would be a shame to have to downgrade since I like the new podcast and internet radio features of v7.




OK, I won't. But why not? It's designed as a better alternative to playing all songs with shuffle on.

jdryyz
2008-04-14, 10:09
I was pleased to discover that reverting back to v6.5.4 was as easy as reinstalling it. The SqeezeBox firmware was also reverted back.

Unless the "All Songs" option adds to the complexity of the code or takes up an unusual amount of space, I so no reason why it couldn't remain in future releases. I for one hope it returns.

mherger
2008-04-14, 10:17
> Unless the "All Songs" option adds to the complexity of the code or
> takes up an unusual amount of space, I so no reason why it couldn't
> remain in future releases.

Then you already know the reason why it has been removed :-).

--

Michael

jdryyz
2008-04-14, 10:50
That's an uneducated guess on my part. It could have been removed because it was felt to be redundant if "Random Mix" satisfies this functionality.



> Unless the "All Songs" option adds to the complexity of the code or
> takes up an unusual amount of space, I so no reason why it couldn't
> remain in future releases.

Then you already know the reason why it has been removed :-).

--

Michael