PDA

View Full Version : HELP? Can i connect my squeeze box to my pc with home plugs without a router?

ANDI1
2008-04-04, 20:25
Ive purchased a squeeze box three and i have a pair of home plugs then going to ethernet on my sb3 and to my pc, ive tried liking my squeezebox to my pc using the home plugs to no avail, i think i have to set some static ip`s or something, its certanly not picking them up automatically via the dhcp. And ive tried some ip adddress`s but still no joy.

Do i need a router or should i be able to connect my squeeze box to home plug and pc to home plugs and get them to link.

Im not too tech savvy but i can get to the ip config screen.

Can anyone give me a step by step of what i need to do to connect if it can be done. I think i may need to set some staticv ip into the computer or something but how do i do that.

Also i have downloded the slim server software thats installed

really appreciate some advice before i give up and sell :( thankyou

ceejay
2008-04-05, 00:31
Hello

You certainly should be able to get this setup to work. In the case you have, ie just a PC and an SB, there is no DHCP server (its normally packaged into a router) which is why nothing is working yet.

As you have already spotted, you will need to set some static IP addresses. something like

192.168.0.2 for your PC
192.168.0.3 for your SB

You will probably also be asked for a Subnet mask - set this to 255.255.255.0 for both.

(I deliberately missed out .1 as many routers use this address and you might want to add one in the future)

HTH

ANDI1
2008-04-05, 04:30
Thanksd for response can anyone tell me how i change gthe static ip on my pc, i know how to do it on the squeezebox itself but cant find how to do it on the pc itself, im using windows xp btw.

Jeff52
2008-04-05, 05:56
...can anyone tell me how i change the static ip on my pc...

Check these out: http://www.hotcomm.com/FAQ/FAQ_staticIPXP.asp

and: http://ask-leo.com/how_do_i_configure_my_static_ip_address.html