PDA

View Full Version : Remote responsiveness in 5.1



Clive Chater
2004-02-21, 16:58
Yes, when rescanning, using the web interface (especially with larger lists)
and sometimes using the remote to navigate to other albums can cause the
music to be interrupted. The processor at this point is running at 100% so
it's not too surprising really. I have maybe 25,000 mp3 and it takes time
to read this info in I guess. I've just learnt to except these limitations
and blamed an aging pc. But I prefer to use an old separate pc as the
server, rather than my new desktop pc.

Clive

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of dean blackketter
Sent: 21 February 2004 20:38
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Remote responsiveness in 5.1

Clive (et al),

When you are having this problem, can you take a look at the Task Manager
and see what the CPU and Memory load are?

Thanks,

dean

On Feb 21, 2004, at 7:17 AM, Clive Chater wrote:

> By my experience, the directory scan completely destroys the playback.
> Personally I never stop and start the server software (PC stays on all
> the time anyway) and only occasionally do a manual rescan when not
> listening to music. That seems to keep me happy. I can't use the web
> interface though as it takes too many resources and the music plays as
> you describe. My server PC is a on old PII 400 256Mb RAM with an
> external 500GB hard disc for music storage. Win 2003 Server &
> SlimServer 5.1.
>
> Clive
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of
> fauxfrenchdeux
> Sent: 21 February 2004 15:04
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Remote responsiveness in 5.1
>
> FWI, this happens to me too. This delayed responsiveness is sporadic.
> I wonder if a directory scan is the culprit.
>
> Julius
>
> --- Jason <jason (AT) pagefamily (DOT) net> wrote:
>> Has anyone else noticed that the remote response is really fubar'd in
>> 5.1?
>> Sorry if this has already been brought up but I didn't see anything
>> recently about it. Sometimes I press a button on the remote, the
>> squeeze won't respond, I'll hit the button again and then both button
>> pushes register.
>
> __________________________________
> Do you Yahoo!?
> Yahoo! Mail SpamGuard - Read only the mail you want.
> http://antispam.yahoo.com/tools
>