PDA

View Full Version : Duet without a router?



jaffacake
2008-04-04, 03:55
I've been helping a potential buyer on this thread:

http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=737257

which left me with a few unanswered questions.

Clearly the Duet product requirements state that a wifi network is required. Is this absolutely the case?

You can clearly wire the Squeezebox Receiver in, so that removes the need for wireless there. I also believe the controller can bridge over the Receiver to talk to the Slim Server.

Is there a solution there? Would ICS work with Duet?

It's clearly a rare case, and I'm interested to hear if there is a solution. Can anybody help the OP?

slimpy
2008-04-04, 04:47
Correct, the receiver can act as a wireless bridge for the controller (and only for the controller).
If you run Squeezecenter on a PC, the receiver is wired to the PC and the PC has internet access you can even play internet radio on the Duet if ICS is properly set up.

-s.

jaffacake
2008-04-04, 08:43
Appreciate the feedback, thanks.

pfarrell
2008-04-05, 20:29
Of course, you can buy a $50 wifi 'router' and use it as an access point, and get wifi for your house as well.