PDA

View Full Version : How the "clear" SqueezeCenter 7.01 cachefolder



PBA
2008-04-02, 01:34
As part of a solution to help a SB/TP user I recently saw an advice wich mentioned something about clearing (deleting files) in the SqueezeCenter cachefolder.
Wich path and folder is it ? Wich files/folders can be deleted ?

mherger
2008-04-02, 01:39
> Wich path and folder is it ? Wich files/folders can be deleted ?

Please, folks, please read the forums before asking questions. It's been
minutes since this question has been asked again, only an hour after it's
been replied in that same thread...

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=45668

Michael

PBA
2008-04-02, 01:45
> Wich path and folder is it ? Wich files/folders can be deleted ?

Please, folks, please read the forums before asking questions. It's been
minutes since this question has been asked again, only an hour after it's
been replied in that same thread...

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=45668

Michael

Fast reply, thanks ... but the thread is still open ;-)

Edit; I'm not reinstalling, I wanna clear the cache and restart. Is that possible ?

Siduhe
2008-04-02, 01:56
Did you actually read the thread that Michael directed you to?
You also don't tell us what OS you are using, which makes it quite difficult to answer your question:

If Windows, I would try looking in C:\ProgramData\SqueezeCenter\Cache

One other way to get to this is Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data [which is a hidden folder, you will need to unhide]\Squeezecenter and there is the cache folder. Just delete the contents (with SC shut down).

mherger
2008-04-02, 01:59
> Fast reply, thanks ... but the thread is still open ;-)

If you want me to close this thread, just insult me :-).

> Edit; I'm not reinstalling, I wanna clear the cache and restart. Is
> that possible ?

In that other thread I gave the pointer to the cache folder, or where you
can find a pointer to it. Remove that folder, restart, done.

Michael

mherger
2008-04-02, 02:10
> If Windows, I would try looking in C:\ProgramData\SqueezeCenter\Cache

That's Vista only... as this path varies a lot not only depending on the
OS, but the OS version too, I recommend having a look at the status page.

Michael

PBA
2008-04-02, 02:14
> Fast reply, thanks ... but the thread is still open ;-)

If you want me to close this thread, just insult me :-).

> Edit; I'm not reinstalling, I wanna clear the cache and restart. Is
> that possible ?

In that other thread I gave the pointer to the cache folder, or where you
can find a pointer to it. Remove that folder, restart, done.

Michael
Won´t bother you again, but thanks anyway :/

mherger
2008-04-02, 02:58
> Won´t bother you again, but thanks anyway :/

I didn't answer in a complicated way to get rid of you. But because
there's no simple answer: the path depends on the operating system, OS
version, distribution (if it's Linux), the way you installed it and more.
Your system knows the path. By telling you where you can find it I hoped
to give you the correct answer. Anything else would have been a guess at
best.

Michael

Siduhe
2008-04-02, 03:02
> If Windows, I would try looking in C:\ProgramData\SqueezeCenter\Cache

That's Vista only... as this path varies a lot not only depending on the
OS, but the OS version too, I recommend having a look at the status page.

Michael

I completely agree, but the status page does appear to confuse some people because there is no direct link to the cache folder - just to the scanner and server logs - and clicking on those links opens up the log itself, not the folder containing the logs - it's not intuitive.

Maybe a direct link to the cache folder would help if we are going to refer people to the status page for this information. Alternatively, what about adding an explanation on the Status page in terms: "The cache folder can also be found in the same folder tree as the Log folder" (although you can probably put it a bit better than that).

mherger
2008-04-02, 03:19
> I completely agree, but the status page does appear to confuse some
> people because there is no direct link to the cache folder - just to
> the scanner and server logs - and clicking on those links opens up the
> log itself, not the folder containing the logs - it's not intuitive.

Could you please file an enhancement request. I've never liked it
myself... the log only shows a very small snippet - we should extend this.
Thanks!

Michael

Siduhe
2008-04-02, 04:15
Done as 7692 (http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=7692).