PDA

View Full Version : Transpoter as access point



S2K
2008-03-28, 05:51
Can the Transporter or Squeezebox for that matter be configured as access point? I'm sure to have read this somewhere.

I would like to extend my wireless range. Since my Transporter is in the middle of my router and the room where I want (better) wireless reception, it seems like the perfect idea.

Is this posible?

radish
2008-03-28, 05:53
No, they can act as wireless bridges for wired devices but not APs.

S2K
2008-03-28, 06:06
No, they can act as wireless bridges for wired devices but not APs.

Thanks, but that leads me to another question. Does a wireless bridge not just do exactly what Iím trying to accomplish? Or what else is the function of a wireless bridge?

radish
2008-03-28, 06:12
A wireless bridge allows wired devices to connect to an existing wireless network. An AP acts as a central point through which wireless devices can connect to each other.

Example - you have an Xbox sitting next to your SB3 and want the Xbox to connect to the wireless network. Instead of buying a specific USB wireless dongle for the Xbox you can just connect it to the SB3 via ethernet and you're done. The Xbox thinks it's on a wired network, but really it's being bridged by the SB3.

What you want isn't even an AP, it's a repeater (i.e. retransmit an existing wireless network to extend its range). Some home wireless routers can be configured to act as repeaters, but not all.

S2K
2008-03-28, 06:17
Thank you for your clear explanation. :)

peter
2008-03-28, 06:19
S2K wrote:
> radish;284679 Wrote:
>
>> No, they can act as wireless bridges for wired devices but not APs.
>>
>
> Thanks, but that leads me to another question. Does a wireless bridge
> not just do exactly what I'm trying to accomplish? Or what else is the
> function of a wireless bridge?
>

You could call a WAP a wireless bridge IMHO. It bridges between a wired
and a wireless network. In fact, in the early days of Wifi we used to
call it that, I believe some wireless routers still have a bridge mode
that effectively disables the routing and dhcp stuff and allows it to
act like a WAP.

The SB's can function as a bridge in the sense of this Belkin device:
http://www.directron.com/f5d7330.html , but it cannot function as a WAP.

Regards,
Peter