PDA

View Full Version : Various problems with old hardware, freenas & squeezecenter/slimnas

rhizomaticon
2008-03-27, 09:31
Hi folks,

I've trying to DIY a music server from two different machines:

1.7 ghz celeron, 256mb ram, 20 gig HDD
249 mhz PII-M, 256 mb ram, 20 gig HDD (same one as above, just swapped it)

I'm a newbie and I'm learning a lot. I've gotten pretty far trying to get one of these to head a raid 1 mirror with 2x seagate 500 gb sata 1.5 drives via a PCI card with 2x sata 1.5 connections, with on-board hardware raid.

I would prefer not to use the 1.7 ghz celeron machine because it is a full ATX chasis and has a loud fan on the cpu and is no doubt a power hog. Also, I could not get the raid1 to mount-- I kept getting "fatal error 12" and something about an LBA #.

The PII-M machine is a slimline case, the cpu is fanless, and I can get the raid1 to mount. However, I've tried to use the hardware raid in the BIOS on the PCI card (seems to set up fine) but freenas still recognizes the two drives as separate. I then set them up as software raid in freenas, and I can mount the raid and read and write to it. The problem is when I try to install slimnas the system hangs. Is slimnas/squeezecenter too much for a 249 mhz PII-M??

I'm just wondering if I should bite the bullet and throw out my attempts to reuse old equipment and get a Via C7 fanless mobo etc. instead???

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,
B

syburgh
2008-03-27, 10:38
Is slimnas/squeezecenter too much for a 249 mhz PII-M??
Assuming it can be made to work, it sounds like a borderline solution. Would be an interesting hack if it works.

SC7 performance is kind of marginal on a 500 MHz Geode LX800 (OK through SB3 interface, several seconds per page via Web UI), which has performance similar to a p2.

Good luck!

ik632
2008-04-03, 06:29