PDA

View Full Version : remote streaming and SC7.01



Mnyb
2008-03-27, 06:24
Hi folks I,m not realy sure if this is newbie Q if so move it there..

I'm using this nifty feature of remote streaming, worked around most problems thanks to help page and wiki.

I'm actually listening rigth now :).
I'm using winamp for it.

But i'm not able to use password with SC7 i'm only getting "400 bad request "
when i'm doing that ?
I'm using this suggested linking http://username:password@<my dyndns name>:9000/stream.mp3 ??

Another Question how do setup proxys with softsqueeze ??

today i'm behind the company firewall and winamp has proxy settings.
when travelling i have such trouble as i'm allowed to directly access internet from hotells then i use softsqueeze.

Thanks in advance

radish
2008-03-27, 06:58
But i'm not able to use password with SC7 i'm only getting "400 bad request "
when i'm doing that ?
I'm using this suggested linking http://username:password@<my dyndns name>:9000/stream.mp3 ??

Make sure your username/password don't contain any "weird" character. Try it with something simple which is just letters & numbers to see if that works.



Another Question how do setup proxys with softsqueeze ??

today i'm behind the company firewall and winamp has proxy settings.
when travelling i have such trouble as i'm allowed to directly access internet from hotells then i use softsqueeze.


Most proxies that I come across are setup to only allow web (HTTP) traffic, so softsqueeze wouldn't work anyway as it's using a different protocol.

Mnyb
2008-03-27, 07:38
my user and password are fairly simple, the web interface is working with it, but i cant get winamp to use it ? no &#*~@ characters.
my pass is 10 characters long and my name is 6 ?

I read somewhere that winamp could promt you for passw ? how do I accomplish that.

Maybe i'm fiddled enough for today, do I need to restart the server or are password changes made if i press apply in settings?

I'm actaully running some sort of tech support desk at work today, omg :)(hence the need for music between cals) I'm normaly a feild service/comission guy.

/Mikael

Btw company firewall would'nt allow puTTY to SSH or https at port 81
so i'm probably better of trying this when i'm traveling, when i'm directly at the internet. Restarts of server or squeezecenter service would'nt be possible from the office ?

radish
2008-03-27, 07:54
I read somewhere that winamp could promt you for passw ? how do I accomplish that.

Don't know, sorry - don't use winamp much these days.



Maybe i'm fiddled enough for today, do I need to restart the server or are password changes made if i press apply in settings?

Don't think so.


Restarts of server or squeezecenter service would'nt be possible from the office ?
Not unless you used some other application like GoToMyPC or VNC over SSH.

Mnyb
2008-03-28, 01:21
A made two simple experiments

Changed to a simplier password no luck.

typed the http://user:pass@<my dyndns>:9000/stream.mp3 in another browser window.
Then quicktime atempted to play the stream, " mozilla" apeared as player in SC7
but i got no sound from Quicktime.

So SC7 accept the passw this way.
Any suggestions of another player?
I got foobar2000 in my winXP partion at home but it's a lot of things to setup before it starts to be usefull

bernt
2008-03-28, 04:32
I use WMP for remote streaming and it works fine with user\password.

For me it takes sometimes 5-10 min before it starts playing after I loaded a playlist.

Svanur
2008-03-28, 08:49
But if SqueezeCenter is playing music controlled by the SBC and I want to play music from the SC via internet, I see in the main menu which player is 'active'. I can choose then the other internet player. But can you not hear both at the same time??