PDA

View Full Version : changing the port



ronniebee
2008-03-25, 16:58
I have just downloaded version 7 having previously been on version 6.5.4

Previously, I had to change the port to 9100 from 9000 as Mcafee uses port 9000.Squeezecentre will not start, I assume because of the same port problem, but I can't find a preferences file in which to change the port number in this version. Running Win XP SP2 and firefox as a browser

Ron

Anoop M.
2008-03-25, 18:06
I have just downloaded version 7 having previously been on version 6.5.4

Previously, I had to change the port to 9100 from 9000 as Mcafee uses port 9000.Squeezecentre will not start, I assume because of the same port problem, but I can't find a preferences file in which to change the port number in this version. Running Win XP SP2 and firefox as a browser

Ron

If you go to Settings --> Advanced --> Change top pull down menu to Network

Then under Web Server Port Number

Is this what you were looking for?

danco
2008-03-26, 01:17
I was going to make the same suggestion.

But then it occurred to me that as McAfee is currently using port 9000, Ron can't access the SqueezeCenter Web interface to make the change.

Perhaps he needs to turn McAfee off (maybe disconnect from the internet first), make the change as you suggest, and then turn McAfee back on.

ronniebee
2008-03-26, 11:36
Thanks... once I managed to get McAfee to switch off... kept turning itself back on again... I changed the settings and it works fine

Ron

iSix
2008-03-26, 13:24
Is there no preferences file like in previous versions? I haven't upgraded to 7 yet but the box it's on has services already using port 9000 which cannot be disabled...

radish
2008-03-26, 15:14
Yes, there is, it just moved. On windows look in "c:\documents and settings\all users\SqueezeCenter".

danco
2008-03-26, 17:20
On my machine, which is a Mac, the relevant line is fairly near the end, round about line 730.

Probably easiest, once the file has been opened in a suitable editor, to search for the string 9000

pski
2008-03-26, 17:28
If you plan on using SoftSqueeze, it will not be possible to use a port other than 9000.

mherger
2008-03-27, 00:19
> Is there no preferences file like in previous versions? I haven't

Sure there is. It's now called server.prefs and is stored in a path depending on your OS. You'll find the path in Settings -> Status.

--

Michael