PDA

View Full Version : Can I connect both SB2 and an SB3 and use at same time?



pcumming
2008-03-25, 12:46
Can I connect SB2 and an SB3 and use at same time without issue?

I have an SB2 and use it in my bedroom via Wireless G of course.

I want to add an SB3 to my living room.

Any problems fore-seen assuming my wireless signal is sufficient?

I assume perhaps I can run one Slimserver 6.5.4 on my PC to stream my MP3's to either unit or do what I want on either unit?

Thanks,
Peter

radish
2008-03-25, 12:55
Of course - I run various combinations of SB2, SB3, SBR and Transporter from the same server all the time. You can keep running 6.5.4, or upgrade to SC7.

pcumming
2008-03-25, 12:57
So I only need to run one instance of 6.5.4 or SC correct?

Thanks
Peter

ceejay
2008-03-25, 12:58
Correct. One SS/SC can feed many players. Try it with Softsqueeze.

adamslim
2008-03-25, 12:59
One SlimServer will happily serve many SBs - I have heard of people using numbers in double figures. You should have no problem with FLAC over wifi if you just have two or three - no need to restrict it to MP3.

Get an SB3 for the kitchen too - you can sync it with the living room :)

John Rakestraw
2008-03-25, 13:00
On Tue, 25 Mar 2008 12:46:37 -0700
pcumming <pcumming.36ug5b1206474601 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

> Can I connect SB2 and an SB3 and use at same time without issue?

Yes.

--
John Rakestraw
Director, Faculty Programs
Center for New Designs in Learning and Scholarship
Georgetown University

pcumming
2008-03-25, 13:04
Thank you so very much. Am trying to get a slightly used sb3 on ebay.

Thanks
Peter