PDA

View Full Version : Wrong identification of SqueezeBox in SC7?



Sune
2008-03-23, 15:21
Am I the only who's SqueezeBox 3 is identified as a SqueezeBox 2 on the SC7 settings pages?

I guess this is doesn't really matter, but I'm curious if I'm the only experiencing this, or if this is a bug?

/Sune

smc2911
2008-03-23, 15:35
My v3 is identified as a v3.

aubuti
2008-03-24, 15:04
Am I the only who's SqueezeBox 3 is identified as a SqueezeBox 2 on the SC7 settings pages?
Once upon a time (back in SS 6.5.x) I had that problem, but it went away. Now with SC7, one of my SB2s reports that it's an SB3. So in the global scheme of things, the errors cancel each other out.

I think that SC looks at some database of MAC addresses to determine whether it's an SB2 or SB3, and that database isn't perfect. Personally, I don't worry about it, especially because the SB2 and SB3 internals are identical.

awy
2008-03-25, 05:02
If you are referring to the name that the player gets, then the default name is simply "Squeezebox" with the next free number tacked on. So, if you have two SB3s and have given neither of them a name yourself, then they will be called "Squeezebox" and "Squeezebox 2".

aubuti
2008-03-25, 05:54
If you are referring to the name that the player gets, then the default name is simply "Squeezebox" with the next free number tacked on. So, if you have two SB3s and have given neither of them a name yourself, then they will be called "Squeezebox" and "Squeezebox 2".
My understanding of the OP is that he/she was referring to how the player is identified under Settings > Status in the web ui or Settings > Information > Player Information in the SB2/3 screen. And that's what I was referring to, but I can see how it is open to other interpretations.

aubuti
2008-03-27, 18:50
Once upon a time (back in SS 6.5.x) I had that problem, but it went away. Now with SC7, one of my SB2s reports that it's an SB3. So in the global scheme of things, the errors cancel each other out.

I think that SC looks at some database of MAC addresses to determine whether it's an SB2 or SB3, and that database isn't perfect. Personally, I don't worry about it, especially because the SB2 and SB3 internals are identical.
Oops, it turns out that maybe the database is okay after all, because I just found out that the MAC address was wrong on my mis-identified player. Slacker.com complained about the wrong MAC address, and after fixing it my SB2 now correctly reports itself as an SB2.