PDA

View Full Version : is it ok to use the web while ripping discs?



rydenfan
2008-03-09, 08:35
I often spend time on the web while I am ripping discs. Is this ok? Or is there a change I could corrupt the rip in some way? Thanks for the help.

Shredder
2008-03-09, 08:41
I always do both at the same time (right now, for example) and have never had a problem.

seanadams
2008-03-09, 08:47
Totally OK.

In the early days of CD _burning_, you had to be careful because the drives had very small buffers. Any activity on the PC could cause it to run empty and the write would fail completely, because a disc could only be burned in a single continuous operation.

Ripping is a completely different story. That is a "random access", reading process where interruptions have no effect.

rydenfan
2008-03-09, 08:49
Thanks so much guys! Always better safe than sorry...

b33k34
2008-03-09, 09:38
You would have thought so but my original collection rip (using a mix of iTunes, Windows MP, and EAC/Lame contained a lot of files with errors (ie that wouldn't play properly either on my iPod or by SlimServer). I always put that down to doing other tasks at the same time.

This time i've ripped everything via iTunes on Mac and been a bit more careful about doing other stuff and haven't had any problems yet. Could have been many things last time - they were less powerful pcs, on my old Athlon system i had two drives hooked up to it and sometimes used both at once, and was ripping super high quality variable - could have been any one of those factors.

Jeff Flowerday
2008-03-09, 09:56
Just make sure that error checking is on with whaterver software you use and you should be fine.

I didn't know about error checking in WMP before I started ripping my 2000+ CD collection. Fortunately I found the error of my ways 300 in. Without error checking in WMP I'd get the odd blast of static when the drive encountered a problem with a disk. They were pretty infrequent so infrequent that I didn't hear one for quite a few days of spot checking via my Zune.

With error checking on it went away completely. Discs in real bad shape still might cause skipping or drop outs but there isn't much you can do besides buy a new copy.


Jeff

peter
2008-03-09, 10:47
Jeff Flowerday wrote:
> Just make sure that error checking is on with whaterver software you use
> and you should be fine.
>
> I didn't know about error checking in WMP before I started ripping my
> 2000+ CD collection. Fortunately I found the error of my ways 300 in.
> Without error checking in WMP I'd get the odd blast of static when the
> drive encountered a problem with a disk. They were pretty infrequent
> so infrequent that I didn't hear one for quite a few days of spot
> checking via my Zune.
>
> With error checking on it went away completely. Discs in real bad
> shape still might cause skipping or drop outs but there isn't much you
> can do besides buy a new copy.
>

Don't use crap like WMP, use EAC and FLAC to rip your CD's.
People regularly post here complaining that they inadvertently ripped
their collection in WMA + DRM and now it won't play on their SB's.

Regards,
Peter

Jeff Flowerday
2008-03-09, 12:06
Jeff Flowerday wrote:
> Just make sure that error checking is on with whaterver software you use
> and you should be fine.
>
> I didn't know about error checking in WMP before I started ripping my
> 2000+ CD collection. Fortunately I found the error of my ways 300 in.
> Without error checking in WMP I'd get the odd blast of static when the
> drive encountered a problem with a disk. They were pretty infrequent
> so infrequent that I didn't hear one for quite a few days of spot
> checking via my Zune.
>
> With error checking on it went away completely. Discs in real bad
> shape still might cause skipping or drop outs but there isn't much you
> can do besides buy a new copy.
>

Don't use crap like WMP, use EAC and FLAC to rip your CD's.
People regularly post here complaining that they inadvertently ripped
their collection in WMA + DRM and now it won't play on their SB's.

Regards,
Peter

I don't remember asking your opinion. FLAC doesn't work on my Zune, doesn't work worth a crap in MCE. Why should I use it again? Oh yah, because Peter said so. Rollseyes

DRM isn't on by default in WMP so why these people turn it on is besides me. I tried EAC but it was too much work to get the rip done with album art. I have 3000 CDs to do and don't have the time.

adamslim
2008-03-09, 12:52
I don't remember asking your opinion. FLAC doesn't work on my Zune, doesn't work worth a crap in MCE. Why should I use it again? Oh yah, because Peter said so. Rollseyes

DRM isn't on by default in WMP so why these people turn it on is besides me. I tried EAC but it was too much work to get the rip done with album art. I have 3000 CDs to do and don't have the time.

For the benefit of others who might read this, EAC plus FLAC is an excellent way to get prefect rips that you know you don't have to do again. WMP is less reliable a ripper, but is fine for 95% of discs. EAC is good at dealing with scratches, and reports when it has an accurate rip - although it is slower.

Oh and check out Album Art Aggregator = a great little piece of software. WMP and iTunes are fine for most album art, but if you collection is more eclectic, AAA is very quick.

peter
2008-03-09, 12:58
Jeff Flowerday wrote:
> I don't remember asking your opinion. FLAC doesn't work on my Zune,
> doesn't work worth a crap in MCE. Why should I use it again? Oh yah,
> because Peter said so. Rollseyes
>

Not just me, you'll notice that most people here'll recommend FLAC
instead of lossy or proprietary stuff. You can convert FLAC files into
anything without loss.

Regards,
Peter

Jeff Flowerday
2008-03-09, 13:01
Absolutely EAC is the best solution if you have the time and want the best guaranteed rip.

That said, I don't like when people feel they should ram their solutions down everyone's throats.

FLAC is a great lossless format but in some environments it isn't the best choice.

Ross Malegus
2008-03-09, 13:13
Do you have a link to recommended FLAC software?

Thanks
Ross

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of Peter
Sent: Sunday, March 09, 2008 3:59 PM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: Re: [slim] is it ok to use the web while ripping discs?

Jeff Flowerday wrote:
> I don't remember asking your opinion. FLAC doesn't work on my Zune,
> doesn't work worth a crap in MCE. Why should I use it again? Oh yah,
> because Peter said so. Rollseyes
>

Not just me, you'll notice that most people here'll recommend FLAC
instead of lossy or proprietary stuff. You can convert FLAC files into
anything without loss.

Regards,
Peter

peter
2008-03-09, 13:21
Ross Malegus wrote:
> Do you have a link to recommended FLAC software?
>

This is all you need:

http://flac.sourceforge.net/
http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/

Regards,
Peter

Jeff Flowerday
2008-03-09, 13:26
Jeff Flowerday wrote:
> I don't remember asking your opinion. FLAC doesn't work on my Zune,
> doesn't work worth a crap in MCE. Why should I use it again? Oh yah,
> because Peter said so. Rollseyes
>

Not just me, you'll notice that most people here'll recommend FLAC
instead of lossy or proprietary stuff. You can convert FLAC files into
anything without loss.

Regards,
Peter

Most people will recommend it, myself included when using the Squeeze box only, but most people don't jump on threads crapping on other technologies preaching FLAC as the end all solution of solutions.

peter
2008-03-09, 13:43
Jeff Flowerday wrote:
> Most people will recommend it, myself included when using the Squeeze
> box only, but most people don't jump on threads crapping on other
> technologies preaching FLAC as the end all solution of solutions.
>

If I turn on my SqueezeBox Controller it says "Free Your Music.".
I'll bet that's not what your Zune says... ;)

Keep away from the big boys if you want to own your own music.

Regards,
Peter

Jeff Flowerday
2008-03-09, 14:11
Jeff Flowerday wrote:
> Most people will recommend it, myself included when using the Squeeze
> box only, but most people don't jump on threads crapping on other
> technologies preaching FLAC as the end all solution of solutions.
>

If I turn on my SqueezeBox Controller it says "Free Your Music.".
I'll bet that's not what your Zune says... ;)

Keep away from the big boys if you want to own your own music.

Regards,
Peter

I own my music on CDs. I chose a format for digital archive, the best solution for me was WMA Lossless with DRM turned off. I considered FLAC but it wouldn't work fully and completely through my environment.

I missed the press release where I don't own my music?

You really need to quit spewing this crap!

To the original poster, I apoligize for the direction this thread has gone.

pfarrell
2008-03-09, 14:35
Jeff Flowerday wrote:
> I missed the press release where I don't own my music?

I'm not in this thread or flamewar, but you only own music you write and
perform. When you buy a CD, you don't own the music. This is what DRM
and the DMCA is all about.

"Free your music"

Jeff Flowerday
2008-03-09, 14:52
Jeff Flowerday wrote:
> I missed the press release where I don't own my music?

I'm not in this thread or flamewar, but you only own music you write and
perform. When you buy a CD, you don't own the music. This is what DRM
and the DMCA is all about.

"Free your music"

I think most realize what the term own represents in the case of purchased copyright material.

What's your "Free your music" point?

peter
2008-03-09, 23:31
Jeff Flowerday wrote:
> You really need to quit spewing this crap!
>

I think I've had enough of this. ;)

Regards,
Peter