PDA

View Full Version : Duet and high bitrate AAC



perski
2008-03-08, 22:05
Received my duet. Very nice :-) However, high bitrate AAC files don't seem to be playing smoothly. VERY jittery. Bit of a bummer since I can't listen to any of my iTunes Plus songs. It doesn't seem to be a network problem since Apple Lossless and high bitrate mp3 (320 kbps) are playing just fine. Any ideas?

Per

msherman
2008-03-09, 05:24
perski wrote:
> Received my duet. Very nice :-) However, high bitrate AAC files don't
> seem to be playing smoothly. VERY jittery. Bit of a bummer since I
> can't listen to any of my iTunes Plus songs. It doesn't seem to be a
> network problem since Apple Lossless and high bitrate mp3 (320 kbps)
> are playing just fine. Any ideas?

Your server can't handle converting the high bitrate AAC in realtime
without starving squeezecenter. Your best bet is probably to manually
convert them all to FLAC ahead of time.

- Marc

bpa
2008-03-09, 06:03
Depending on your OS - there may be an alternative which gives better performance (e.g. Windows use faad instead of mov123) especially if your CPU is not great on floating point aritmetic.

perski
2008-03-09, 14:21
Thanks,

Instructions provided in thread

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=41673

worked like a charm :-)

Per

bpa
2008-03-09, 14:26
To help others in they have similar symptoms:

What OS and CPU have you got ?

perski
2008-03-09, 19:11
Vista 32bit
AMD Athlon 3800
2GB RAM

Per

EnochLight
2008-03-09, 21:55
Vista 32bit
AMD Athlon 3800
2GB RAM

Per

That system should have handled the files fine, IMHO. You wouldn't happen to have a SATA drive running off of an nVidia nForce chipset, would you?

perski
2008-03-10, 07:47
Funny you should mention that...

However, using faad rather than mov123 seems to be working just fine.

Per

bpa
2008-03-10, 08:09
Users running Vista with SATA disks and NVidia have reported problems with Quicktime which is used by mov123.

Usually the bug shows as a delay of maybe 10 secs before playing a track - the "jittery" symptom is new.

faad does its own decoding and does not rely on Quicktime.